- WhichTractor size: Standard-size
- Lab tested ×1
- 2003–2007
WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category
Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is
John Deere 7420 specs: hp, weight, years
John Deere 6068HRW01 six-cylinder or John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-01 diesel. OECD put one on a dynamometer and measured 127.4 hp at the power take-off — the number to size an implement from.
Measured at the PTO shaft
127.4 hp
Source · OECD Test 2081, measured
- Drawbar hp
- 112.5
John Deere 7420 specs: key facts
The John Deere 7420 was built from 2003 to 2007 and produced 95.0 kW (127.4 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2081.Source 2
The claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of the John Deere 7420 is 99.4–99.4 kW (133.3–133.3 hp), depending on configuration.
The John Deere 7420 was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.
The John Deere 7420 has a John Deere 6068HRW01 engine, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L unit.Source 1
The John Deere 7420 weighs 5,851 kg (12,899 lb) unladen.
The John Deere 7420 has an independent rear PTO running at 540/1000 rpm.
The three-point hitch of the John Deere 7420 lifts 5,500 kg (12,125 lb) at the lower-link ends.
The hydraulic pump of the John Deere 7420 delivers 120.0 L/min (31.7 gpm).
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”

How much horsepower does a 7420 have at the PTO?
At the PTO shaft a 7420 has 127.4 hp (95.0 kW), measured on OECD Test 2081.
Sources · OECD test report 2081, 2003; OECD test report 2081, 2003; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”
What engine is in a 7420?
A 7420 has a John Deere 6068HRW01, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L engine. Diesel tractors have a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-01. Diesel tractors have a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-01.
| Make & model | John Deere 6068HRW01 |
|---|---|
| Cylinders | 6, liquid-cooledSource 2 |
| Displacement | 414.2 ci · 6.79 L |
| Aspiration | supercharged |
| Max torque | 414 lb·ft · 561.0 N·m @ 1,398 rpmSource 2 |
| Injection | Direct injectionSource 3On record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · OECD test report 2081, 2003
How much will a 7420 lift?
Hydraulic and PTO specifications for the 7420 are below.
| System | Closed centre, load sensingSource 2On record for 1 of 3 configurations |
|---|---|
| Pump flow | 31.7 gpm · 120.0 L/minOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Lift at ends | 12,125 lb · 5,500 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Rear PTO | 540/1000 rpm |
| PTO shaft | 35 mm, 6 splines / 35 mm, 21 splinesSource 2 |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”
What transmission does a 7420 have?
Transmission specifications for the 7420 are below.
| Clutch | Pedal-operated, hydraulic wet multi-disc clutchOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
|---|---|
| Brakes | Pedal-operated, hydraulic wet disc brake acting on differential side shaftsOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Steering | Hydrostatic John Deere/Danfoss steeringOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Top speed | 24.9–31.1 mph · 40–50 km/hOn record for 1 of 3 configurationsthe article lists alternatives |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”
How much does a 7420 weigh?
Dimensions for the 7420 are below; no sourced weight is on record yet.
| Unladen weight | 12,899 lb · 5,851 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurationsA |
|---|---|
| Maximum permissible mass | 22,046 lb · 10,000 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Wheelbase | 104.3–112.8 in · 2,650–2,865 mmVaries by configuration: 2,650 mm or 2,865 mmOn record for 2 of 3 configurationstwo-wheel-drive versionfour-wheel-drive version |
| Length | 176.0 in · 4,471 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Width | 96.0–105.7 in · 2,438–2,686 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Height | 112.8 in · 2,865 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Ground clearance | 16.3–20.5 in · 415–520 mmVaries by configuration: 415 mm or 520 mmOn record for 2 of 3 configurationstwo-wheel-drive versionfour-wheel-drive version |
| Front track | 59.4–88.0 in · 1,510–2,235 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Rear track | 60.0–100.3 in · 1,524–2,548 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”
What oil does a 7420 take, and how much?
A 7420 engine takes 20.6 qt (19.5 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.
| System | Capacity |
|---|---|
| Engine oil | 20.6 qt · 19.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420” · single source, not independently verified |
| Transmission | 69.7 qt · 66.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420” · single source, not independently verified |
| Front axle | 1.8 qt · 1.7 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420” · single source, not independently verified |
| Cooling system | 16.4 qt · 15.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420” · single source, not independently verified |
Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.
What did OECD measure on Test 2081?
OECD Test 2081 recorded 127.4 hp at the PTO and 112.5 hp at the drawbar. Configuration as printed: “4 WD · PowrQuad Plus - MFWD - 40 km/h”.
| PTO power, maximum | 127.4 hp at 860 PTO rpm · 95.0 kW @ 1,801 engine rpmSource 2 |
|---|---|
| PTO power, rated engine speed | 116.5 hp at 1,003 PTO rpm · 86.9 kW @ 2,101 engine rpm |
| PTO power, standard PTO speed | 116.5 hp at 1,003 PTO rpm · 86.9 kW @ 2,101 engine rpm |
| Drawbar power, unballasted | 112.5 hp · 83.9 kW |
Source · OECD test report 2081, 2003
How much fuel does a 7420 burn per hour?
Measured on OECD Test 2081 (tested as the 7420 (4 WD)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.
Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).
| Test condition | Fuel per hour |
|---|---|
| Maximum PTO powerPTO 95.0 kW (127.4 hp) at 860 rpm | 25.79 L/h 6.81 gal/h |
| Rated engine speedPTO 86.9 kW (116.5 hp) at 1,003 rpm | 25.53 L/h 6.74 gal/h |
| Standard PTO speedPTO 86.9 kW (116.5 hp) at 1,003 rpm | 25.53 L/h 6.74 gal/h |
| 75% load, 50% load | Not on record for this test |
Source · OECD Test 2081
Which tractors compare with a 7420?
Within 10% of its 127.4 hp measured at the PTO, the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.
- Deutz-Fahr Agrotron 6.45127.8 hp PTO, claimed · 1995–1997Side by side with the 7420 →
- John Deere 7610126.9 hp PTO, measured · 1997–2002Side by side with the 7420 →
- Deutz-Fahr Agrotron M 420128.6 hp PTO, claimed · from 2010Side by side with the 7420 →
- Deutz-Fahr Agrotron TTV 620134 hp PTO, claimed · 2007–2012Side by side with the 7420 →
- Deutz-Fahr Agrotron 135 MK3120.2 hp PTO, claimed · 2000–2003Side by side with the 7420 →
- Deutz-Fahr Agrotron 135120.2 hp PTO, claimed · 1997–2000Side by side with the 7420 →
Common questions about the John Deere 7420
Is a 7420 two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?
The John Deere 7420 was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.
What PTO does a 7420 have?
A 7420 has a 540/1000 rpm rear PTO on a 35 mm, 6 splines / 35 mm, 21 splines shaft.
What implements will a 7420 run?
Size PTO implements from the measured 127.4 hp at the shaft.
Sources and how this page was built
Compiled from OECD tractor test report 2081; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”.
Sources
Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 081: John Deere 7420 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2081 · published 2003-09-16 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 081: John Deere 7420 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2081 · published 2003-09-16 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
- Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 7420 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106508 · revision 883599. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document