- WhichTractor size: Standard-size
- Lab tested ×1
- 2003–2007
WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category
John Deere 7420 Engine specifications
20 engine values on record for the 7420.
Measured at the PTO shaft
127.4 hp
Source · OECD Test 2081, measured
What engine is in a 7420?
A 7420 has a John Deere 6068HRW01, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L engine. Fitted to 7420 (4 WD).
| Make & model | John Deere 6068HRW01Source 1 |
|---|---|
| Cylinders | 6Source 1 |
| Displacement | 414.2 ci · 6.79 LSource 1 |
| Aspiration | SuperchargedSource 1 |
| Cooling | Liquid-cooled |
| Fuel injection | Direct injectionSource 3On record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Maximum torque | 414 lb·ft · 561.0 N·m |
| Maximum torque speed | 1,398 rpm |
| Air cleaner | Power Core air filterSource 3On record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Cylinders | 6 |
| Displacement | 7.2 qt · 6.8 L |
| Bore | 4.2 in · 106.5 mmSource 3On record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Stroke | 5.0 in · 127 mmSource 3On record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Rated engine speed | 2,100 rpmSource 3On record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Torque rise | 42.0 % |
Source · OECD test report 2081, 2003
What engine is in the diesel 7420?
The diesel 7420 has a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-01, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L diesel engine. Fitted to 7420 (A), 7420 (A) (4WD).
| Make & model | John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-01 |
|---|---|
| Fuel | Diesel |
| Cylinders | 6 |
| Displacement | 414.2 ci · 6.79 L |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”
How much fuel does a 7420 use?
On OECD Test 2081, the 7420 used 6.81 gal/h (25.8 L/h) at maximum power.
| Fuel consumption, at maximum power | 6.81 gal/h · 25.8 L/hSource 2 |
|---|---|
| Fuel consumption, at rated engine speed | 6.74 gal/h · 25.5 L/hSource 2 |
| Fuel consumption, at standard PTO speed | 6.74 gal/h · 25.5 L/hSource 2 |
| Engine speed, at maximum power | 1,801 rpmSource 2 |
| Engine speed, at rated engine speed | 2,101 rpmSource 2 |
| Engine speed, at standard PTO speed | 2,101 rpmSource 2 |
| Maximum torque | 414 lb·ft · 561.0 N·mSource 2 |
| Torque rise | 42.0%Source 2 |
Source · OECD test report 2081, 2003
Where this page comes from
20 engine values from OECD test report 2081, 2003; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7420”.
Sources
Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 081: John Deere 7420 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2081 · published 2003-09-16 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 081: John Deere 7420 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2081 · published 2003-09-16 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
- Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 7420 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106508 · revision 883599. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document