• Rigid chassis
  • WhichTractor size: Utility
  • Lab tested ×1
  • 2002–2007

It sits on the utility/standard-size boundary, so either size is a fair description. WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is

John Deere 6620 specs: hp, weight, years

John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-070/V2-DE or 6.068 HL-471/HP six-cylinder diesel or John Deere 6068HLA70 (DD20011). The manufacturer claimed 123 horsepower. The only laboratory test on record is of one version: OECD Test 2038 measured 117.1 hp at the PTO of the 6620 (4 WD). Compared at the engine's rated speed, where the brochure figure is quoted, the shaft gave 109.8 hp — 11% below the claim.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

123 hp

92 kW as stated by the source

No lab test on file

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”, claimed

This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.

Weight
13,040 lb
3-point lift
16,755 lb
Top speed
24.9–31.1 mph

John Deere 6620 specs: key facts

  • The John Deere 6620 was built from 2002 to 2007.

  • Only one version of the John Deere 6620 has a laboratory test on record: the 6620 (4 WD) produced 87.3 kW (117.1 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2038.Source 1

  • The John Deere 6620 has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 92 kW (123 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.

  • The John Deere 6620 is four-wheel drive (4WD).Source 1

  • The John Deere 6620 has a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-070/V2-DE or 6.068 HL-471/HP engine, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L diesel unit.

  • The John Deere 6620 weighs 5,915 kg (13,040 lb) unladen.

  • The John Deere 6620 has an independent rear PTO running at 540E/540/1000 rpm.

  • The three-point hitch of the John Deere 6620 lifts 7,600 kg (16,755 lb) at the lower-link ends.

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”

John Deere 6620 tractor
Photo: JoachimKohler-HB, CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons · Wrong photo?

How much horsepower does a 6620 have?

The only laboratory test on record is of one version. OECD Test 2038 measured 117.1 hp at the PTO of the 6620 (4 WD). For the 6620 as a whole the figure is the 123 hp claimed for the engine, which is not power at the shaft.

Engine, claimed (gross/net not stated)
123 hp

Sources · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”; OECD test report 2038, 2003

What engine is in a 6620?

A 6620 has a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-070/V2-DE or 6.068 HL-471/HP, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L diesel engine. 6620 (4 WD) tractors have a John Deere 6068HLA70 (DD20011).

Engine — 6620 engine specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-070/V2-DE or 6.068 HL-471/HP
Cylinders6, liquid-cooled
Displacement414.2 ci · 6.79 L
Max torque353 lb·ft · 479.0 N·m @ 1,501 rpmSource 1
Electrical system12 V

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”

How much will a 6620 lift?

A 6620 lifts 16,755 lb (7,600 kg) at the lower-link ends.

Hydraulics & PTO — 6620 hydraulics and PTO specifications
SystemClosed centre, load sensingSource 1
Pressure3,017–3,220 psi · 208–222 bar
Lift at ends16,755 lb · 7,600 kg
Rear PTOIndependent, engine-driven, 540E/540/1000 rpmEngages under load
PTO shaft1 3/8"- 6 splines or 1 3/8"- 21 part

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”

What transmission does a 6620 have?

Transmission specifications for the 6620 are below.

Transmission — 6620 transmission specifications
SteeringHydrostatic Danfoss steering
Top speed24.9–31.1 mph · 40–50 km/hthe article lists alternatives

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”

How much does a 6620 weigh?

A 6620 weighs 13,040 lb (5,915 kg) unladen.

Weights & dimensions — 6620 weights and dimensions
Unladen weight13,040 lb · 5,915 kg
Maximum permissible mass20,944 lb · 9,500 kg
Maximum front axle load9,921 lb · 4,500 kg
Maximum rear axle load15,212 lb · 6,900 kg
Wheelbase104.3 in · 2,650 mm
Length185.2 in · 4,705 mm
Width96.3 in · 2,445 mm
Height113.2 in · 2,875 mm
Ground clearance18.1 in · 460 mm
Front track71.9 in · 1,827 mm
Rear track71.5 in · 1,815 mm

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”

What oil does a 6620 take, and how much?

A 6620 engine takes 20.6 qt (19.5 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.

6620 fluid capacities, grades and service intervals
SystemCapacity
Engine oil20.6 qt · 19.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620” · single source, not independently verified
Transmission66.6 qt · 63.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620” · single source, not independently verified
Front axle8.5 qt · 8.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620” · single source, not independently verified
Cooling system29.6 qt · 28.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620” · single source, not independently verified

Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.

How much fuel does a 6620 burn per hour?

Measured on OECD Test 2038 (tested as the 6620 (4 WD)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.

Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).

Fuel use measured on OECD Test 2038
Test conditionFuel per hour
Maximum PTO powerPTO 87.3 kW (117.1 hp) at 906 rpm24.64 L/h 6.51 gal/h
Rated engine speedPTO 81.9 kW (109.8 hp) at 1,042 rpm25.24 L/h 6.67 gal/h
Standard PTO speedPTO 86.0 kW (115.3 hp) at 1,000 rpm25.29 L/h 6.68 gal/h
75% load, 50% loadNot on record for this test

Source · OECD Test 2038

Which tractors compare with a 6620?

Within 10% of its 123 hp of claimed engine power, the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.

Common questions about the John Deere 6620

Is a 6620 two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?

The John Deere 6620 is four-wheel drive (4WD).

What PTO does a 6620 have?

A 6620 has a independent 540E/540/1000 rpm rear PTO on a 1 3/8"- 6 splines or 1 3/8"- 21 part shaft.

Sources and how this page was built

Compiled from OECD tractor test report 2038; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”.

Sources checked

14 SEP 2026

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 038: John Deere 6620 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2038 · published 2003-01-22 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Gross-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  2. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 6620 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-51301 · revision 1027751. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document