• Rigid chassis
  • WhichTractor size: Utility
  • Lab tested ×1
  • 2002–2007

It sits on the utility/standard-size boundary, so either size is a fair description. WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

John Deere 6620 Engine specifications

19 engine values on record for the 6620.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

123 hp

92 kW as stated by the source

Not independently tested

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”, claimed

What engine is in the diesel 6620?

The diesel 6620 has a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-070/V2-DE or 6.068 HL-471/HP, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L diesel engine. Fitted to 6620.

Engine — John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-070/V2-DE or 6.068 HL-471/HP specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-070/V2-DE or 6.068 HL-471/HP
FuelDiesel
Cylinders6
Displacement414.2 ci · 6.79 L
CoolingLiquid-cooled
Maximum torque353 lb·ft · 479.0 N·mSource 1
Maximum torque speed1,501 rpmSource 1
Air cleanerDONALDSON Power Core air filter
Cylinders6
Displacement7.2 qt · 6.8 L
Bore4.2 in · 106.5 mm
Stroke5.0 in · 127 mm
Rated engine speed2,300 rpm
Torque rise40 %

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”

What engine is in a 6620?

A 6620 has a John Deere 6068HLA70 (DD20011), a 6-cylinder 6.79 L engine. Fitted to 6620 (4 WD).

Engine — John Deere 6068HLA70 (DD20011) specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere 6068HLA70 (DD20011)
Cylinders6
Displacement414.2 ci · 6.79 L
AspirationSupercharged

Source · OECD test report 2038, 2003

How much fuel does a 6620 use?

On OECD Test 2038, the 6620 used 6.51 gal/h (24.6 L/h) at maximum power.

OECD Test 2038 — 6620 as tested, configuration as printed: “4 WD · AutoQuad - 40 km/h”
Fuel consumption, at maximum power6.51 gal/h · 24.6 L/h
Fuel consumption, at rated engine speed6.67 gal/h · 25.2 L/h
Fuel consumption, at standard PTO speed6.68 gal/h · 25.3 L/h
Engine speed, at maximum power2,001 rpm
Engine speed, at rated engine speed2,300 rpm
Engine speed, at standard PTO speed2,208 rpm
Maximum torque353 lb·ft · 479.0 N·m
Torque rise40.9%

Source · OECD test report 2038, 2003

Where this page comes from

19 engine values from Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”; and OECD test report 2038, 2003.

Last verified

Not yet verified

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 038: John Deere 6620 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2038 · published 2003-01-22 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Gross-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  2. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 6620CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-51301 · revision 1027751. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document