• Rigid chassis
  • WhichTractor size: Standard-size
  • Lab tested ×2
  • 1997–2003

WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is

John Deere 6410 Full specifications

John Deere 4045TL056 four-cylinder or John Deere 4.045 TL-053 diesel. OECD put one on a dynamometer and measured 98.0 hp at the power take-off — the number to size an implement from.

Measured at the PTO shaft

98.0 hp

Source · OECD Test 1806, measured

Drawbar hp
79.7

John Deere 6410 specs: key facts

  • The John Deere 6410 was built from 1997 to 2003 and produced 73.1 kW (98.0 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 1806.Source 1

  • The claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of the John Deere 6410 is 77.3–77.3 kW (103.7–103.7 hp), depending on configuration.

  • The John Deere 6410 is four-wheel drive (4WD).Source 1,Source 2

  • The John Deere 6410 has a John Deere 4045TL056 engine, a 4-cylinder 4.53 L unit.Source 1

  • The John Deere 6410 weighs 4,100–4,390 kg (9,039–9,678 lb) unladen, depending on configuration.

  • The John Deere 6410 has a rear PTO running at 540E/540/1000 rpm.

  • The three-point hitch of the John Deere 6410 lifts 6,016 kg (13,264 lb) at the lower-link ends.

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”

John Deere 6410 tractor
Photo: Bene Riobó, CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons · Wrong photo?

How much horsepower does a 6410 have at the PTO?

At the PTO shaft a 6410 has 98.0 hp (73.1 kW), measured on OECD Test 1806. The John Deere 4.045 TL-053 gave 99.4 hp at the PTO on Test 1842.

PTO, measured
98.0 hp
Drawbar, measured (unballasted)
79.7 hp

Sources · OECD test report 1806, 1999; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”; OECD test report 1842, 1999

What engine is in a 6410?

A 6410 has a John Deere 4045TL056, a 4-cylinder 4.53 L engine. 6410 (4 WD) tractors have a John Deere 4.045 TL-053. Diesel tractors have a John Deere 4.045 TL-053. Diesel tractors have a John Deere 4.045 TL-053.

Engine — 6410 engine specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere 4045TL056
Cylinders4, liquid-cooled
Displacement276.1 ci · 4.53 L
Aspirationsupercharged
Max torque307 lb·ft · 416.0 N·m @ 1,503 rpmSource 2Sources disagree293 lb·ft · 397.0 N·m (OECD test report 1806, 1999)

Source · OECD test report 1806, 1999

How much will a 6410 lift?

Hydraulic and PTO specifications for the 6410 are below.

Hydraulics & PTO — 6410 hydraulics and PTO specifications
SystemClosed centre, load sensingSource 2On record for 1 of 4 configurations
Pressure3,017–3,220 psi · 208–222 barOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Lift at ends13,264 lb · 6,016 kgOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Rear PTO540E/540/1000 rpm
PTO shaft35 mm, 6 splines / 35 mm, 21 splinesSource 2

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”

What transmission does a 6410 have?

Transmission specifications for the 6410 are below.

Transmission — 6410 transmission specifications
BrakesHydraulic wet annular piston disc brake acting on differential side shaftsOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
SteeringHydrostatic DANFOSS steeringOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Top speed18.6–31.1 mph · 30–50 km/hOn record for 1 of 4 configurationsthe article lists alternatives

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”

How much does a 6410 weigh?

Dimensions for the 6410 are below; no sourced weight is on record yet.

Weights & dimensions — 6410 weights and dimensions
Unladen weight9,039–9,678 lb · 4,100–4,390 kgVaries by configuration: 4,100 kg or 4,390 kgOn record for 2 of 4 configurationstwo-wheel-drive versionfour-wheel-drive version
Maximum permissible mass17,637 lb · 8,000 kgOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Wheelbase95.7 in · 2,430 mmOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Length181.5 in · 4,610 mmOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Width87.4 in · 2,220 mmOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Height106.1 in · 2,694 mmOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Ground clearance17.2 in · 436 mmOn record for 1 of 4 configurations
Rear track67.6–75.4 in · 1,716–1,916 mmOn record for 1 of 4 configurations

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”

What did OECD measure on Test 1806?

OECD Test 1806 recorded 98.0 hp at the PTO and 79.7 hp at the drawbar. Configuration as printed: “4 WD · NA - PowrQuad”.

Test results — OECD Test 1806, 6410: measured results
PTO power, maximum98.0 hp at 861 PTO rpm · 73.1 kW @ 1,900 engine rpm
PTO power, rated engine speed90.4 hp at 1,042 PTO rpm · 67.4 kW @ 2,300 engine rpm
PTO power, standard PTO speed92.5 hp at 1,000 PTO rpm · 69.0 kW @ 2,208 engine rpm
Drawbar power, unballasted79.7 hp · 59.4 kW

Source · OECD test report 1806, 1999

How much fuel does a 6410 burn per hour?

Measured on OECD Test 1806 (tested as the 6410 (4 WD)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.

1 other test of this model is on record; figures differ between configurations.

Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).

Fuel use measured on OECD Test 1806
Test conditionFuel per hour
Maximum PTO powerPTO 73.1 kW (98.0 hp) at 861 rpm20.52 L/h 5.42 gal/h
Rated engine speedPTO 67.4 kW (90.4 hp) at 1,042 rpm20.62 L/h 5.45 gal/h
Standard PTO speedPTO 69.0 kW (92.5 hp) at 1,000 rpm20.73 L/h 5.48 gal/h
75% load, 50% loadNot on record for this test

Source · OECD Test 1806

Which tractors compare with a 6410?

Within 10% of its 98.0 hp at the PTO (measured), the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.

Everything else people ask

Is a 6410 two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?

The John Deere 6410 is four-wheel drive (4WD).

What PTO does a 6410 have?

A 6410 has a 540E/540/1000 rpm rear PTO on a 35 mm, 6 splines / 35 mm, 21 splines shaft.

What implements will a 6410 run?

Size PTO implements from the measured 98.0 hp at the shaft.

Where this page comes from

Compiled from OECD tractor test reports 1806 and 1842; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”.

Last verified

Not yet verified

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/1 806: John Deere 6410 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-1806 · published 1999-01-27 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Groß-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  2. OECD Code 2 test report 2/1 842: John Deere 6410 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-1842 · published 1999-09-06 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Groß-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  3. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 6410CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-48544 · revision 1076788. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document