• Rigid chassis
  • WhichTractor size: Utility
  • Lab tested ×2
  • 2003–2006

WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is

John Deere 6120 specs: hp, weight, years

John Deere PowrTech 4.045 TL-070 four-cylinder diesel or John Deere 4045TL054 or John Deere 4045TL070. The manufacturer claimed 79.0 horsepower. The only laboratory test on record is of one version: OECD Test 1821 measured 78.6 hp at the PTO of the 6120 (4 WD); OECD Test 2028 measured 72.3 hp at the PTO of the 6120 (4 WD). Compared at the engine's rated speed, where the brochure figure is quoted, the shaft gave 74.7 hp — 5.4% below the claim.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

79.0 hp

58.9 kW as stated by the source

No lab test on file

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”, claimed

This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.

Weight
9,513 lb
3-point lift
10,251 lb
Top speed
24.9 mph

John Deere 6120 specs: key facts

  • The John Deere 6120 was built from 2003 to 2006.

  • Only one version of the John Deere 6120 has a laboratory test on record: the 6120 (4 WD) produced 58.6 kW (78.6 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 1821; the 6120 (4 WD) produced 53.9 kW (72.3 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2028.Source 1,Source 2

  • The John Deere 6120 has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 58.9 kW (79.0 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.

  • The John Deere 6120 is four-wheel drive (4WD).Source 1,Source 2

  • The John Deere 6120 has a John Deere PowrTech 4.045 TL-070 engine, a 4-cylinder 4.53 L diesel unit.

  • The John Deere 6120 weighs 4,315 kg (9,513 lb) unladen.

  • The John Deere 6120 has a rear PTO running at 540/1000 rpm.Source 1

  • The three-point hitch of the John Deere 6120 lifts 4,650 kg (10,251 lb) at the lower-link ends.

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”

How does the 6120 compare with its class?

  • Strength:

    A three-point lift at the lower links of 4,650 kg is high for its class — 48% above the median of 3,136 kg across the 270 machines within 10% of its power that hold this figure.

  • Strength:

    A 165 L fuel tank is high for its class — 68% above the median of 98.1 L across the 330 machines within 10% of its power that hold this figure.

  • Worth knowing:

    An unladen mass of 4,315 kg is high for its class — 30% above the median of 3,325 kg across the 355 machines within 10% of its power that hold this figure.

Derived by WhichTractor from 356 comparable records. How we work this out

John Deere 6120 tractor
Photo: joost j. bakker, CC BY 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons · Wrong photo?

How much horsepower does a 6120 have?

The only laboratory test on record is of one version. OECD Test 1821 measured 78.6 hp at the PTO of the 6120 (4 WD); OECD Test 2028 measured 72.3 hp at the PTO of the 6120 (4 WD). For the 6120 as a whole the figure is the 79.0 hp claimed for the engine, which is not power at the shaft.

Engine, claimed (gross/net not stated)
79.0 hp

Sources · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”; OECD test report 1821, 1999; OECD test report 2028, 2002

What engine is in a 6120?

A 6120 has a John Deere PowrTech 4.045 TL-070, a 4-cylinder 4.53 L diesel engine. 6120 (4 WD) tractors have a John Deere 4045TL054. 6120 (4 WD) tractors have a John Deere 4045TL070.

Engine — 6120 engine specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere PowrTech 4.045 TL-070
Cylinders4, liquid-cooled
Displacement276.1 ci · 4.53 L
Max torque232 lb·ft · 314 N·m @ 1,399 rpmSource 1
Electrical system12 V

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”

How much will a 6120 lift?

A 6120 lifts 10,251 lb (4,650 kg) at the lower-link ends.

Hydraulics & PTO — 6120 hydraulics and PTO specifications
SystemClosed centre, load sensingSource 3
Lift at ends10,251 lb · 4,650 kgSource 3
Rear PTO540/1000 rpm
PTO shaft35 mm, 6 splines / 35 mm, 21 splines

Source · OECD test report 1821, 1999

What transmission does a 6120 have?

Transmission specifications for the 6120 are below.

Transmission — 6120 transmission specifications
SteeringHydrostatic DANFOSS steering
Top speed24.9 mph · 40 km/h

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”

How much does a 6120 weigh?

A 6120 weighs 9,513 lb (4,315 kg) unladen.

Weights & dimensions — 6120 weights and dimensions
Unladen weight9,513 lb · 4,315 kg
Maximum permissible mass15,432 lb · 7,000 kg
Wheelbase94.5 in · 2,400 mm
Length168.4 in · 4,278 mm
Width85.7 in · 2,178 mm
Height104.3 in · 2,648 mm
Ground clearance19.3 in · 490 mm
Front track59.8–79.1 in · 1,520–2,010 mm
Rear track63.6–75.3 in · 1,616–1,912 mm

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”

What oil does a 6120 take, and how much?

A 6120 engine takes 16.9 qt (16.0 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.

6120 fluid capacities, grades and service intervals
SystemCapacity
Engine oil16.9 qt · 16.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120” · single source, not independently verified
Transmission56.0 qt · 53.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120” · single source, not independently verified
Front axle5.3 qt · 5.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120” · single source, not independently verified
Cooling system25.4 qt · 24.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120” · single source, not independently verified

Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.

How much fuel does a 6120 burn per hour?

Measured on OECD Test 1821 (tested as the 6120 (4 WD)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.

1 other test of this model is on record; figures differ between configurations.

Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).

Fuel use measured on OECD Test 1821
Test conditionFuel per hour
Maximum PTO powerPTO 58.6 kW (78.6 hp) at 861 rpm17.08 L/h 4.51 gal/h
Rated engine speedPTO 55.7 kW (74.7 hp) at 1,042 rpm18.19 L/h 4.81 gal/h
Standard PTO speedPTO 56.7 kW (76.0 hp) at 1,000 rpm17.98 L/h 4.75 gal/h
75% load, 50% loadNot on record for this test

Source · OECD Test 1821

Which tractors compare with a 6120?

Within 10% of its 79.0 hp of claimed engine power, the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.

Common questions about the John Deere 6120

Is a 6120 two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?

The John Deere 6120 is four-wheel drive (4WD).

What PTO does a 6120 have?

A 6120 has a 540/1000 rpm rear PTO on a 35 mm, 6 splines / 35 mm, 21 splines shaft.

Sources and how this page was built

Compiled from OECD tractor test reports 1821 and 2028; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”.

Sources checked

14 SEP 2026

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/1 821: John Deere 6120 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-1821 · published 1999-04-19 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Groß-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  2. OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 028: John Deere 6120 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2028 · published 2002-11-27 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Gross-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  3. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 6120 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-50941 · revision 879110. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document