• Rigid chassis
  • WhichTractor size: Utility
  • Lab tested ×1
  • 2003–2006

WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

John Deere 6120 Engine specifications

18 engine values on record for the 6120.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

79.0 hp

58.9 kW as stated by the source

Not independently tested

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”, claimed

What engine is in the diesel 6120?

The diesel 6120 has a John Deere PowrTech 4.045 TL-070, a 4-cylinder 4.53 L diesel engine. Fitted to 6120.

Engine — John Deere PowrTech 4.045 TL-070 specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere PowrTech 4.045 TL-070
FuelDiesel
Cylinders4
Displacement276.1 ci · 4.53 L
CoolingLiquid-cooled
Maximum torque232 lb·ft · 314 N·m
Maximum torque speed1,399 rpmSource 1
Cylinders4
Displacement4.8 qt · 4.5 L
Bore4.2 in · 106.5 mm
Stroke5.0 in · 127 mm
Rated engine speed2,300 rpm
Torque rise51.7 %

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”

What engine is in a 6120?

A 6120 has a John Deere 4045TL054, a 4-cylinder 4.53 L engine. Fitted to 6120 (4 WD).

Engine — John Deere 4045TL054 specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere 4045TL054
Cylinders4
Displacement276.1 ci · 4.53 L
AspirationSupercharged

Source · OECD test report 1821, 1999

How much fuel does a 6120 use?

On OECD Test 1821, the 6120 used 4.51 gal/h (17.1 L/h) at maximum power.

OECD Test 1821 — 6120 as tested, configuration as printed: “4 WD · NA - PowrQuad - M 6210 A”
Fuel consumption, at maximum power4.51 gal/h · 17.1 L/h
Fuel consumption, at rated engine speed4.81 gal/h · 18.2 L/h
Fuel consumption, at standard PTO speed4.75 gal/h · 18.0 L/h
Engine speed, at maximum power1,900 rpm
Engine speed, at rated engine speed2,300 rpm
Engine speed, at standard PTO speed2,208 rpm
Maximum torque249 lb·ft · 338.0 N·m
Torque rise46.3%

Source · OECD test report 1821, 1999

Where this page comes from

18 engine values from Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6120”; and OECD test report 1821, 1999.

Last verified

Not yet verified

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/1 821: John Deere 6120 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-1821 · published 1999-04-19 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Groß-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  2. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 6120CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-50941 · revision 879110. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document