• WhichTractor size: Compact
  • No lab test on file
  • 2005–2008

It sits on the compact/utility boundary, so either size is a fair description. WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is

John Deere 5425 (A) specs: hp, weight, years

John Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 40 four-cylinder diesel. The manufacturer claimed 79.9 horsepower. No laboratory has tested one, so there is no measured figure at the shaft.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

79.9 hp

59.6 kW as stated by the source

No lab test on file

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”, claimed

This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.

Weight
6,799 lb
3-point lift
4,685 lb
Hyd. flow
18.7 gpm
Top speed
18.6–24.9 mph

John Deere 5425 (A) specs: key facts

  • The John Deere 5425 (A) was built from 2005 to 2008.

  • The John Deere 5425 (A) has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 59.6 kW (79.9 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.

  • The John Deere 5425 (A) was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.

  • The John Deere 5425 (A) has a John Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 40 engine, a 4-cylinder 4.52 L diesel unit.

  • The John Deere 5425 (A) weighs 3,084 kg (6,799 lb) unladen.

  • The John Deere 5425 (A) has an independent rear PTO running at 540 rpm.

  • The three-point hitch of the John Deere 5425 (A) lifts 2,125 kg (4,685 lb) at the lower-link ends.

  • The hydraulic pump of the John Deere 5425 (A) delivers 70.8 L/min (18.7 gpm).

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”

How does the 5425 (A) compare with its class?

  • Strength:

    A hydraulic pump flow of 70.8 L/min is high for its class — 64% above the median of 43.1 L/min across the 297 machines within 10% of its power that hold this figure.

Derived by WhichTractor from 375 comparable records. How we work this out

Illustration of the 2005–2008 John Deere 5425 (A), a 80 hp farm tractor, four-wheel-drive version · cab was optional — shown without it, a drawing generated from its specification record
Illustration — not a photograph · four-wheel-drive version · cab was optional — shown without it

How much horsepower does a 5425 (A) have?

The only figure for the 5425 (A) is 79.9 hp (59.6 kW) of claimed engine power, gross or net not stated, no test standard stated — not power at the shaft.

Engine, claimed (gross/net not stated)
79.9 hp

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”

What engine is in a 5425 (A)?

A 5425 (A) has a John Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 40, a 4-cylinder 4.52 L diesel engine.

Engine — 5425 (A) engine specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 40
Cylinders4, liquid-cooled
Displacement275.6 ci · 4.52 L
Max torque208 lb·ft · 282 N·m @ 1,497 rpm
InjectionDirect injection
Electrical system12 V

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”

How much will a 5425 (A) lift, and what is its hydraulic flow?

A 5425 (A) lifts 4,685 lb (2,125 kg) at the lower-link ends.

Hydraulics & PTO — 5425 (A) hydraulics and PTO specifications
SystemOpen centre
Pump flow18.7 gpm · 70.8 L/min
Pressure3,408 psi · 235 bar
Lift at ends4,685 lb · 2,125 kg
Rear PTOIndependent, engine-driven, 540 rpm @ 2,410 engine rpm

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”

What transmission does a 5425 (A) have?

Transmission specifications for the 5425 (A) are below.

Transmission — 5425 (A) transmission specifications
ClutchPedal operated dry double clutch
SteeringHydrostatic John Deere power steering with one double-acting steering cylinder
Top speed18.6–24.9 mph · 30–40 km/hthe article lists alternatives

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”

How much does a 5425 (A) weigh?

A 5425 (A) weighs 6,799 lb (3,084 kg) unladen.

Weights & dimensions — 5425 (A) weights and dimensions
Unladen weight6,799 lb · 3,084 kgtwo-wheel-drive version
Wheelbase85.7 in · 2,178 mm
Length151.5 in · 3,848 mm
Width74.1 in · 1,882 mm
Height98.6 in · 2,504 mm
Ground clearance18.5 in · 470 mmtwo-wheel-drive version
Front track57.5–77.2 in · 1,460–1,960 mmtwo-wheel-drive version
Rear track55.8–71.7 in · 1,417–1,820 mm
Turning radius, braked10.2 ft · 3.10 m

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”

What oil does a 5425 (A) take, and how much?

A 5425 (A) engine takes 11.0 qt (10.4 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.

5425 (A) fluid capacities, grades and service intervals
SystemCapacity
Engine oil11.0 qt · 10.4 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425” · single source, not independently verified
Transmission46.0 qt · 43.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425” · single source, not independently verified
Front axle4.8 qt · 4.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425” · single source, not independently verified
Cooling system10.0 qt · 9.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425” · single source, not independently verified

Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.

Which tractors compare with a 5425 (A)?

Within 10% of its 79.9 hp of claimed engine power, the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.

Common questions about the John Deere 5425 (A)

Is a 5425 (A) two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?

The John Deere 5425 (A) was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.

What PTO does a 5425 (A) have?

A 5425 (A) has a independent 540 rpm rear PTO.

Sources and how this page was built

Compiled from Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5425”.

Sources checked

14 SEP 2026

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 5425 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106421 · revision 883598. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document