- WhichTractor size: Compact
- Lab tested ×1
- 2003–2008
WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category
Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is
John Deere 5203 Full specifications
John Deere 3.029 DPY-13 three-cylinder diesel. OECD put one on a dynamometer and measured 50.8 hp at the power take-off — the number to size an implement from.
Measured at the PTO shaft
50.8 hp
Source · OECD Test 2267, measured
- Drawbar hp
- 41.0
John Deere 5203 specs: key facts
The John Deere 5203 was built from 2003 to 2008 and produced 37.9 kW (50.8 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2267.Source 1
The claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of the John Deere 5203 is 41.2–41.2 kW (55.3–55.3 hp), depending on configuration.
The John Deere 5203 was built in two-wheel drive (2WD) and four-wheel drive (4WD) versions, depending on configuration.Source 1
The John Deere 5203 has a John Deere 3.029 DPY-13 engine, a 3-cylinder 2.90 L diesel unit.
The John Deere 5203 weighs 2,140–2,287 kg (4,718–5,042 lb) unladen, depending on configuration.
The John Deere 5203 has an independent rear PTO running at 540/1000 rpm.Source 1
The three-point hitch of the John Deere 5203 lifts 1,690 kg (3,726 lb) at the lower-link ends.
The hydraulic pump of the John Deere 5203 delivers 43.4 L/min (11.5 gpm).
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”
How much horsepower does a 5203 have at the PTO?
At the PTO shaft a 5203 has 50.8 hp (37.9 kW), measured on OECD Test 2267.
Sources · OECD test report 2267, 2005; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”
What engine is in a 5203?
A 5203 has a John Deere 3.029 DPY-13, a 3-cylinder 2.90 L diesel engine.
| Make & model | John Deere 3.029 DPY-13 |
|---|---|
| Cylinders | 3, liquid-cooledSource 1 |
| Displacement | 177.0 ci · 2.90 L |
| Max torque | 138 lb·ft · 187.7 N·m @ 1,298 rpmSource 1 |
| Injection | direct injection methodOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”
How much will a 5203 lift?
Hydraulic and PTO specifications for the 5203 are below.
| System | Open centreOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
|---|---|
| Pump flow | 11.5 gpm · 43.4 L/minOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Lift at ends | 3,726 lb · 1,690 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Rear PTO | 540/1000 rpmSource 1 |
| PTO shaft | 34.73 mm, 6 splinesSource 1 |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”
What transmission does a 5203 have?
Transmission specifications for the 5203 are below.
| Clutch | Dry LuK double clutch with 280 mm diameterOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
|---|---|
| Brakes | Pedal-operated, hydraulic wet disc brake acting on the differential side shaftsOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Steering | Hydrostatic Danfoss steeringOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Top speed | 18.6 mph · 30 km/hOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”
How much does a 5203 weigh?
Dimensions for the 5203 are below; no sourced weight is on record yet.
| Unladen weight | 4,718–5,042 lb · 2,140–2,287 kgVaries by configuration: 2,140 kg or 2,287 kgOn record for 2 of 3 configurationstwo-wheel-drive versionfour-wheel-drive version |
|---|---|
| Maximum front axle load | 1,775 lb · 805 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Maximum rear axle load | 2,943 lb · 1,335 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Wheelbase | 81.3 in · 2,065 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Length | 137.8 in · 3,500 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Width | 66.7 in · 1,695 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Height | 95.4 in · 2,422 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Ground clearance | 13.8 in · 350 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Front track | 56.3–82.3 in · 1,430–2,090 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Rear track | 51.4–72.2 in · 1,305–1,835 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”
What did OECD measure on Test 2267?
OECD Test 2267 recorded 50.8 hp at the PTO and 41.0 hp at the drawbar. Configuration as printed: “2 WD · PY 5203 U - 30 km/h”.
| PTO power, maximum | 50.8 hp at 540 PTO rpm · 37.9 kW @ 2,376 engine rpm |
|---|---|
| PTO power, rated engine speed | 50.6 hp at 545 PTO rpm · 37.7 kW @ 2,400 engine rpm |
| PTO power, standard PTO speed | 50.8 hp at 540 PTO rpm · 37.9 kW @ 2,376 engine rpm |
| Drawbar power, unballasted | 41.0 hp · 30.6 kW |
Source · OECD test report 2267, 2005
How much fuel does a 5203 burn per hour?
Measured on OECD Test 2267 (tested as the 5203 (2 WD)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.
Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).
| Test condition | Fuel per hour |
|---|---|
| Maximum PTO powerPTO 37.9 kW (50.8 hp) at 540 rpm | 11.76 L/h 3.11 gal/h |
| Rated engine speedPTO 37.7 kW (50.6 hp) at 545 rpm | 11.82 L/h 3.12 gal/h |
| Standard PTO speedPTO 37.9 kW (50.8 hp) at 540 rpm | 11.76 L/h 3.11 gal/h |
| 75% load, 50% load | Not on record for this test |
Source · OECD Test 2267
Which tractors compare with a 5203?
Within 10% of its 50.8 hp at the PTO (measured), the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.
- Hürlimann H-362 (A)50.8 hp PTO, claimed · 1989–1996Side by side with the 5203 →
- Lamborghini 600 DT50.8 hp PTO, claimed · 1989–1996Side by side with the 5203 →
- SAME Aster 60 (DT)50.8 hp PTO, claimed · 1989–1996Side by side with the 5203 →
- Massey Ferguson MF 4320 (A)51 hp PTO, claimed · 2001–2003Side by side with the 5203 →
- John Deere 5300 (A)50.7 hp PTO, claimed · 1992–1997Side by side with the 5203 →
- Hürlimann H-358 "Prestige"51.0 hp PTO, claimed · 1989–1998Side by side with the 5203 →
Everything else people ask
Is a 5203 two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?
The John Deere 5203 was built in two-wheel drive (2WD) and four-wheel drive (4WD) versions, depending on configuration.
What PTO does a 5203 have?
A 5203 has a 540/1000 rpm rear PTO on a 34.73 mm, 6 splines shaft.
What implements will a 5203 run?
Size PTO implements from the measured 50.8 hp at the shaft.
Where this page comes from
Compiled from OECD tractor test report 2267; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5203”.
Sources
Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 267: John Deere 5203 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2267 · published 2005-09-02 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station Central Farm Machinery Training. Original document
- Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 5203 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106247 · revision 874192. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document