- WhichTractor size: Compact
- Lab tested ×1
- 2003–2008
WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category
Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is
John Deere 5103 Full specifications
John Deere 3.029 DPY-12 three-cylinder diesel. OECD put one on a dynamometer and measured 49.8 hp at the power take-off — the number to size an implement from.
Measured at the PTO shaft
49.8 hp
Source · OECD Test 2266, measured
- Drawbar hp
- 40.9
John Deere 5103 specs: key facts
The John Deere 5103 was built from 2003 to 2008 and produced 37.1 kW (49.8 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2266.Source 1
The claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of the John Deere 5103 is 33.1–33.1 kW (44.4–44.4 hp), depending on configuration.
The John Deere 5103 was built in two-wheel drive (2WD) and four-wheel drive (4WD) versions, depending on configuration.Source 1
The John Deere 5103 has a John Deere 3.029 DPY-12 engine, a 3-cylinder 2.90 L diesel unit.
The John Deere 5103 weighs 2,110–2,282 kg (4,652–5,031 lb) unladen, depending on configuration.
The John Deere 5103 has an independent rear PTO running at 540/1000 rpm.Source 1
The three-point hitch of the John Deere 5103 lifts 1,690 kg (3,726 lb) at the lower-link ends.
The hydraulic pump of the John Deere 5103 delivers 42.8 L/min (11.3 gpm).
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”
How much horsepower does a 5103 have at the PTO?
At the PTO shaft a 5103 has 49.8 hp (37.1 kW), measured on OECD Test 2266.
Sources · OECD test report 2266, 2005; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”
What engine is in a 5103?
A 5103 has a John Deere 3.029 DPY-12, a 3-cylinder 2.90 L diesel engine.
| Make & model | John Deere 3.029 DPY-12 |
|---|---|
| Cylinders | 3, liquid-cooledSource 1 |
| Displacement | 177.0 ci · 2.90 L |
| Max torque | 129 lb·ft · 175.2 N·m @ 1,399 rpmSource 1 |
| Injection | Direct injectionOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”
How much will a 5103 lift?
Hydraulic and PTO specifications for the 5103 are below.
| System | Open centreOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
|---|---|
| Pump flow | 11.3 gpm · 42.8 L/minOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Pressure | 2,828 psi · 195 barOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Lift at ends | 3,726 lb · 1,690 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Rear PTO | 540/1000 rpmSource 1 |
| PTO shaft | 34.78 mm, 6 splinesSource 1 |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”
What transmission does a 5103 have?
Transmission specifications for the 5103 are below.
| Clutch | Dry LuK double clutch with 280 mm diameterOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
|---|---|
| Brakes | Pedal-operated, hydraulic wet disc brake acting on the differential side shaftsOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Steering | Hydrostatic Danfoss steeringOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Top speed | 18.6 mph · 30 km/hOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”
How much does a 5103 weigh?
Dimensions for the 5103 are below; no sourced weight is on record yet.
| Unladen weight | 4,652–5,031 lb · 2,110–2,282 kgVaries by configuration: 2,110 kg or 2,282 kgOn record for 2 of 3 configurationstwo-wheel-drive versionfour-wheel-drive version |
|---|---|
| Maximum front axle load | 1,764 lb · 800 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Maximum rear axle load | 2,888 lb · 1,310 kgOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Wheelbase | 81.1 in · 2,060 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Length | 137.4 in · 3,490 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Width | 65.7 in · 1,670 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Height | 93.7 in · 2,380 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Ground clearance | 12.2 in · 310 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Front track | 56.3–80.7 in · 1,430–2,050 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
| Rear track | 52.0–71.7 in · 1,320–1,820 mmOn record for 1 of 3 configurations |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”
What did OECD measure on Test 2266?
OECD Test 2266 recorded 49.8 hp at the PTO and 40.9 hp at the drawbar. Configuration as printed: “2 WD · PY 5103 U - 30 km/h”.
| PTO power, maximum | 49.8 hp at 521 PTO rpm · 37.1 kW @ 2,292 engine rpm |
|---|---|
| PTO power, rated engine speed | 48.4 hp at 545 PTO rpm · 36.1 kW @ 2,400 engine rpm |
| PTO power, standard PTO speed | 48.7 hp at 540 PTO rpm · 36.3 kW @ 2,376 engine rpm |
| Drawbar power, unballasted | 40.9 hp · 30.5 kW |
Source · OECD test report 2266, 2005
How much fuel does a 5103 burn per hour?
Measured on OECD Test 2266 (tested as the 5103 (2 WD)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.
Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).
| Test condition | Fuel per hour |
|---|---|
| Maximum PTO powerPTO 37.1 kW (49.8 hp) at 521 rpm | 12.01 L/h 3.17 gal/h |
| Rated engine speedPTO 36.1 kW (48.4 hp) at 545 rpm | 11.72 L/h 3.10 gal/h |
| Standard PTO speedPTO 36.3 kW (48.7 hp) at 540 rpm | 11.85 L/h 3.13 gal/h |
| 75% load, 50% load | Not on record for this test |
Source · OECD Test 2266
Which tractors compare with a 5103?
Within 10% of its 49.8 hp at the PTO (measured), the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.
- VALMET 365 (365-4)49.6 hp PTO, claimed · 1994–1997Side by side with the 5103 →
- Lamborghini 564-60 (DT)49.9 hp PTO, claimed · 1993–2004Side by side with the 5103 →
- SAME Argon 60 (DT)49.9 hp PTO, claimed · 1993–2004Side by side with the 5103 →
- VALMET 430049.6 hp PTO, claimed · 1993–1996Side by side with the 5103 →
- Case-IH C-55 (A)50.0 hp PTO, claimed · 1995–1997Side by side with the 5103 →
- Steyr 955 (a)50.0 hp PTO, claimed · 1992–1997Side by side with the 5103 →
Everything else people ask
Is a 5103 two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?
The John Deere 5103 was built in two-wheel drive (2WD) and four-wheel drive (4WD) versions, depending on configuration.
What PTO does a 5103 have?
A 5103 has a 540/1000 rpm rear PTO on a 34.78 mm, 6 splines shaft.
What implements will a 5103 run?
Size PTO implements from the measured 49.8 hp at the shaft.
Where this page comes from
Compiled from OECD tractor test report 2266; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5103”.
Sources
Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 266: John Deere 5103 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2266 · published 2005-09-02 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station Central Farm Machinery Training. Original document
- Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 5103 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106246 · revision 883591. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document