• WhichTractor size: Compact
  • No lab test on file
  • 2005–2008

WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is

John Deere 5525 (A) specs: hp, weight, years

John Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 41 four-cylinder diesel. The manufacturer claimed 91 horsepower. No laboratory has tested one, so there is no measured figure at the shaft.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

91 hp

68 kW as stated by the source

No lab test on file

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”, claimed

This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.

Weight
6,799 lb
3-point lift
4,685 lb
Hyd. flow
18.6 gpm
Top speed
18.6–24.9 mph

John Deere 5525 (A) specs: key facts

  • The John Deere 5525 (A) was built from 2005 to 2008.

  • The John Deere 5525 (A) has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 68 kW (91 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.

  • The John Deere 5525 (A) was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.

  • The John Deere 5525 (A) has a John Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 41 engine, a 4-cylinder 4.52 L diesel unit.

  • The John Deere 5525 (A) weighs 3,084 kg (6,799 lb) unladen.

  • The John Deere 5525 (A) has an independent rear PTO running at 540 rpm.

  • The three-point hitch of the John Deere 5525 (A) lifts 2,125 kg (4,685 lb) at the lower-link ends.

  • The hydraulic pump of the John Deere 5525 (A) delivers 70.4 L/min (18.6 gpm).

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”

How does the 5525 (A) compare with its class?

  • Limitation:

    A three-point lift at the lower links of 2,125 kg is low for its class — 44% below the median of 3,800 kg across the 270 machines within 10% of its power that hold this figure.

Derived by WhichTractor from 366 comparable records. How we work this out

Illustration of the 2005–2008 John Deere 5525 (A), a 91 hp farm tractor, four-wheel-drive version, a drawing generated from its specification record
Illustration — not a photograph · four-wheel-drive version

How much horsepower does a 5525 (A) have?

The only figure for the 5525 (A) is 91 hp (68 kW) of claimed engine power, gross or net not stated, no test standard stated — not power at the shaft.

Engine, claimed (gross/net not stated)
91 hp

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”

What engine is in a 5525 (A)?

A 5525 (A) has a John Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 41, a 4-cylinder 4.52 L diesel engine.

Engine — 5525 (A) engine specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere-PowerTech 4.045 T 41
Cylinders4, liquid-cooled
Displacement275.6 ci · 4.52 L
Max torque229 lb·ft · 310 N·m @ 1,401 rpm
Electrical system12 V

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”

How much will a 5525 (A) lift, and what is its hydraulic flow?

A 5525 (A) lifts 4,685 lb (2,125 kg) at the lower-link ends.

Hydraulics & PTO — 5525 (A) hydraulics and PTO specifications
SystemOpen centre
Pump flow18.6 gpm · 70.4 L/min
Pressure3,408 psi · 235 bar
Lift at ends4,685 lb · 2,125 kg
Rear PTOIndependent, engine-driven, 540 rpm @ 2,410 engine rpm
PTO shaft1 3/8" - 6 splines (Form-1)

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”

What transmission does a 5525 (A) have?

Transmission specifications for the 5525 (A) are below.

Transmission — 5525 (A) transmission specifications
ClutchPedal-operated dry double clutch
SteeringHydrostatic John Deere power steering with one double-acting steering cylinder
Top speed18.6–24.9 mph · 30–40 km/hthe article lists alternatives

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”

How much does a 5525 (A) weigh?

A 5525 (A) weighs 6,799 lb (3,084 kg) unladen.

Weights & dimensions — 5525 (A) weights and dimensions
Unladen weight6,799 lb · 3,084 kgtwo-wheel-drive version
Wheelbase85.7 in · 2,178 mm
Length151.5 in · 3,848 mm
Width74.1 in · 1,882 mm
Height98.6 in · 2,504 mm
Ground clearance18.5 in · 470 mmtwo-wheel-drive version
Front track57.5–77.2 in · 1,460–1,960 mmtwo-wheel-drive version
Rear track55.8–71.7 in · 1,417–1,820 mm
Turning radius, braked10.2 ft · 3.10 m

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”

What oil does a 5525 (A) take, and how much?

A 5525 (A) engine takes 9.0 qt (8.5 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.

5525 (A) fluid capacities, grades and service intervals
SystemCapacity
Engine oil9.0 qt · 8.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525” · single source, not independently verified
Transmission48.0 qt · 45.4 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525” · single source, not independently verified
Front axle4.8 qt · 4.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525” · single source, not independently verified
Cooling system12.0 qt · 11.4 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525” · single source, not independently verified

Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.

Which tractors compare with a 5525 (A)?

Within 10% of its 91 hp of claimed engine power, the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.

Common questions about the John Deere 5525 (A)

Is a 5525 (A) two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?

The John Deere 5525 (A) was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.

What PTO does a 5525 (A) have?

A 5525 (A) has a independent 540 rpm rear PTO on a 1 3/8" - 6 splines (Form-1) shaft.

Sources and how this page was built

Compiled from Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5525”.

Sources checked

14 SEP 2026

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 5525 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106423 · revision 878956. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document