- WhichTractor size: High-power
- Lab tested ×1
- 2002–2007
WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category
Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is
John Deere 9620T specs: hp, weight, years
John Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-18 six-cylinder diesel or John Deere 6125HRW18. The manufacturer claimed 493 horsepower. The only laboratory test on record is of one version: OECD Test 2265 measured 374.4 hp at the PTO of the 9620T (Rubber tracklaying tractor). Compared at the engine's rated speed, where the brochure figure is quoted, the shaft gave 324.1 hp — 34.3% below the claim.
Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated
493 hp
368 kW as stated by the source
No lab test on file
Claimed · standard not stated by the source
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”, claimed
This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.
- Weight
- 36,764 lb
- 3-point lift
- 15,807 lb
- Hyd. flow
- 39.2 gpm
- Top speed
- 18.6 mph
John Deere 9620T specs: key facts
The John Deere 9620T was built from 2002 to 2007.
Only one version of the John Deere 9620T has a laboratory test on record: the 9620T (Rubber tracklaying tractor) produced 279.2 kW (374.4 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2265.Source 2
The John Deere 9620T has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 368 kW (493 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.
The John Deere 9620T is a tracked machine.Source 2
The John Deere 9620T has a John Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-18 engine, a 6-cylinder 12.54 L diesel unit.
The John Deere 9620T weighs 16,676 kg (36,764 lb) unladen.
The John Deere 9620T has an independent rear PTO running at 1000 rpm.
The three-point hitch of the John Deere 9620T lifts 7,170 kg (15,807 lb) at the lower-link ends.
The hydraulic pump of the John Deere 9620T delivers 148.4 L/min (39.2 gpm).
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”
How does the 9620T compare with its class?
We will not rate this machine against its class. Only 3 published tractors sit within 10% of its 368 kW — too few to say what is normal.
Derived by WhichTractor. How we work this out

How much horsepower does a 9620T have?
The only laboratory test on record is of one version. OECD Test 2265 measured 374.4 hp at the PTO of the 9620T (Rubber tracklaying tractor). For the 9620T as a whole the figure is the 493 hp claimed for the engine, which is not power at the shaft.
Sources · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”; OECD test report 2265, 2005
What engine is in a 9620T?
A 9620T has a John Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-18, a 6-cylinder 12.54 L diesel engine. 9620T (Rubber tracklaying tractor) tractors have a John Deere 6125HRW18.
| Make & model | John Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-18 |
|---|---|
| Cylinders | 6, liquid-cooled |
| Displacement | 765.0 ci · 12.54 L |
| Max torque | 1,233 lb·ft · 1,672 N·m @ 1,051 rpm |
| Electrical system | 12 V |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”
How much will a 9620T lift, and what is its hydraulic flow?
A 9620T lifts 15,807 lb (7,170 kg) at the lower-link ends.
| System | Closed centre, load sensingSource 2 |
|---|---|
| Pump flow | 39.2 gpm · 148.4 L/min |
| Lift at ends | 15,807 lb · 7,170 kg |
| Rear PTO | Independent, engine-driven, 1000 rpmEngages under load |
| PTO shaft | 1 3/4"- 20 teilig |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”
What transmission does a 9620T have?
Transmission specifications for the 9620T are below.
| Steering | Electro-hydraulically operated John Deere differential steering |
|---|---|
| Top speed | 18.6 mph · 30 km/h |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”
How much does a 9620T weigh?
A 9620T weighs 36,764 lb (16,676 kg) unladen.
| Unladen weight | 36,764 lb · 16,676 kg |
|---|---|
| Maximum permissible mass | 50,045 lb · 22,700 kg |
| Wheelbase | 110.6 in · 2,810 mm |
| Length | 237.0 in · 6,020 mm |
| Width | 155.6 in · 3,952 mm |
| Height | 136.0 in · 3,454 mm |
| Ground clearance | 14.8 in · 375 mm |
| Front track | 107.4 in · 2,728 mmWikibooks gives one track for both axles |
| Rear track | 107.4 in · 2,728 mmWikibooks gives one track for both axles |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”
What oil does a 9620T take, and how much?
A 9620T engine takes 44.0 qt (41.6 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.
| System | Capacity |
|---|---|
| Engine oil | 44.0 qt · 41.6 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T” · single source, not independently verified |
| Transmission | 259.9 qt · 246.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T” · single source, not independently verified |
| Hydraulic | 91.9 qt · 87.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T” · single source, not independently verified |
| Cooling system | 64.0 qt · 60.6 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T” · single source, not independently verified |
Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.
How much fuel does a 9620T burn per hour?
Measured on OECD Test 2265 (tested as the 9620T (Rubber tracklaying tractor)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.
Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).
| Test condition | Fuel per hour |
|---|---|
| Maximum PTO powerPTO 279.2 kW (374.4 hp) at 897 rpm | 75.58 L/h 19.97 gal/h |
| Rated engine speedPTO 241.7 kW (324.1 hp) at 1,108 rpm | 72.46 L/h 19.14 gal/h |
| Standard PTO speedPTO 271.1 kW (363.6 hp) at 1,000 rpm | 76.55 L/h 20.22 gal/h |
| 75% load, 50% load | Not on record for this test |
Source · OECD Test 2265
Common questions about the John Deere 9620T
Is a 9620T two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?
The John Deere 9620T is a tracked machine.
What PTO does a 9620T have?
A 9620T has a independent 1000 rpm rear PTO on a 1 3/4"- 20 teilig shaft.
Sources and how this page was built
Compiled from OECD tractor test report 2265; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9620T”.
Sources
Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 264: John Deere 9620 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2264 · published 2005-08-03 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
- OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 265: John Deere 9620T — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2265 · published 2005-08-04 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
- Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 9620T — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106591 · revision 881733. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document