• WhichTractor size: Standard-size
  • Lab tested ×1
  • 2002–2007

It was ranked on an engine power figure whose source does not say gross or net. WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is

John Deere 6920 specs: hp, weight, years

John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-072/V2 or 6.068 HLA-73/4V HP six-cylinder diesel or John Deere 6068HLA73 (DD20014) or John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-073/V2 or 6.068 HLA-74/4V HP diesel. The manufacturer claimed 148.0 horsepower. The only laboratory test on record is of one version: OECD Test 2033 measured 153.5 hp at the PTO of the 6920S (4 WD). Compared at the engine's rated speed, where the brochure figure is quoted, the shaft gave 145.6 hp — 1.6% below the claim.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

148.0 hp

110.4 kW as stated by the source

No lab test on file

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”, claimed

This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.

Weight
14,528–14,639 lb
3-point lift
18,894 lb
Top speed
24.9–31.1 mph

John Deere 6920 specs: key facts

  • The John Deere 6920 was built from 2002 to 2007.

  • Only one version of the John Deere 6920 has a laboratory test on record: the 6920S (4 WD) produced 114.5 kW (153.5 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2033.Source 1

  • The John Deere 6920 has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 110.4 kW (148.0 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.

  • The John Deere 6920 is four-wheel drive (4WD).Source 1,Source 3

  • The John Deere 6920 has a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-072/V2 or 6.068 HLA-73/4V HP engine, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L diesel unit.

  • The John Deere 6920 weighs 6,590–6,640 kg (14,528–14,639 lb) unladen.

  • The John Deere 6920 has an independent rear PTO running at 540E/540/1000 rpm.

  • The three-point hitch of the John Deere 6920 lifts 8,570 kg (18,894 lb) at the lower-link ends.

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”

John Deere 6920 tractor
Photo: Joost J. Bakker from IJmuiden, CC BY 2.0 via Wikimedia Commons · Wrong photo?

How much horsepower does a 6920 have?

The only laboratory test on record is of one version. OECD Test 2033 measured 153.5 hp at the PTO of the 6920S (4 WD). For the 6920 as a whole the figure is the 148.0 hp claimed for the engine, which is not power at the shaft.

Engine, claimed (gross/net not stated)
148.0 hp

Sources · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”; OECD test report 2033, 2003

What engine is in a 6920?

A 6920 has a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-072/V2 or 6.068 HLA-73/4V HP, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L diesel engine. 6920S (4 WD) tractors have a John Deere 6068HLA73 (DD20014). Diesel tractors have a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-073/V2 or 6.068 HLA-74/4V HP.

Engine — 6920 engine specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere PowrTech 6.068 HLA-072/V2 or 6.068 HLA-73/4V HP
Cylinders6, liquid-cooled
Displacement414.2 ci · 6.79 L
Electrical system12 V

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”

How much will a 6920 lift?

A 6920 lifts 18,894 lb (8,570 kg) at the lower-link ends.

Hydraulics & PTO — 6920 hydraulics and PTO specifications
SystemClosed centre, load sensingSource 1On record for 1 of 3 configurations
Pressure3,017–3,220 psi · 208–222 bar
Lift at ends18,894 lb · 8,570 kg
Rear PTOIndependent, engine-driven, 540E/540/1000 rpm @ 1,987 engine rpmEngages under load
PTO shaft1 3/8"- 6 splines (Form-1) or 1 3/8"- 21 parts (Form-2)

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”

What transmission does a 6920 have?

Transmission specifications for the 6920 are below.

Transmission — 6920 transmission specifications
ClutchPedal-operated, hydraulic wet Perma clutch II as multi-disc clutch
BrakesPedal-operated hydraulic wet annular piston disc brake acting on differential side shafts
SteeringHydrostatic DANFOSS steering
Top speed24.9–31.1 mph · 40–50 km/hthe article lists alternatives

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”

How much does a 6920 weigh?

A 6920 weighs 14,528–14,639 lb (6,590–6,640 kg) unladen.

Weights & dimensions — 6920 weights and dimensions
Unladen weight14,528–14,639 lb · 6,590–6,640 kgthe article lists alternatives
Maximum permissible mass23,612 lb · 10,710 kg
Maximum front axle load8,973 lb · 4,070 kg
Maximum rear axle load14,639 lb · 6,640 kg
Wheelbase104.3 in · 2,650 mm
Length211.8 in · 5,380 mm
Width95.7 in · 2,430 mm
Height114.8 in · 2,915 mm
Ground clearance16.9 in · 430 mm
Front track71.3 in · 1,810 mmWikibooks gives one track for both axles
Rear track71.3 in · 1,810 mmWikibooks gives one track for both axles

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”

What oil does a 6920 take, and how much?

A 6920 engine takes 20.6 qt (19.5 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.

6920 fluid capacities, grades and service intervals
SystemCapacity
Engine oil20.6 qt · 19.5 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920” · single source, not independently verified
Transmission69.7 qt · 66.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920” · single source, not independently verified
Front axle8.5 qt · 8.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920” · single source, not independently verified
Cooling system29.6 qt · 28.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920” · single source, not independently verified

Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.

How much fuel does a 6920 burn per hour?

Measured on OECD Test 2033 (tested as the 6920S (4 WD)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.

Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).

Fuel use measured on OECD Test 2033
Test conditionFuel per hour
Maximum PTO powerPTO 114.5 kW (153.5 hp) at 981 rpm31.89 L/h 8.42 gal/h
Rated engine speedPTO 108.6 kW (145.6 hp) at 1,053 rpm31.23 L/h 8.25 gal/h
Standard PTO speedPTO 114.5 kW (153.5 hp) at 1,000 rpm31.97 L/h 8.45 gal/h
75% load, 50% loadNot on record for this test

Source · OECD Test 2033

Which tractors compare with a 6920?

Within 10% of its 148.0 hp of claimed engine power, the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.

Common questions about the John Deere 6920

Is a 6920 two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?

The John Deere 6920 is four-wheel drive (4WD).

What PTO does a 6920 have?

A 6920 has a independent 540E/540/1000 rpm rear PTO on a 1 3/8"- 6 splines (Form-1) or 1 3/8"- 21 parts (Form-2) shaft.

Sources and how this page was built

Compiled from OECD tractor test report 2033; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920”; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6920 S”.

Sources checked

14 SEP 2026

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 033: John Deere 6920S — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2033 · published 2003-01-14 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD; testing station DLG, Gross-Umstadt, Germany. Original document
  2. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 6920 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-51307 · revision 1022164. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document
  3. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 6920 S — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-51308 · revision 879742. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document