• Vehicle type: unspecified
  • Crawler
  • WhichTractor size: High-power
  • Lab tested ×1
  • 2002–2007

WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

We looked and the record does not say what this machine is. How we decide what a machine is

John Deere 9520T specs: hp, weight, years

John Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-15 six-cylinder diesel or John Deere 6125HRW15. The manufacturer claimed 444.1 horsepower. The only laboratory test on record is of one version: OECD Test 2042 measured 371.6 hp at the PTO of the 9520T (Rubber tracklaying tractor). Compared at the engine's rated speed, where the brochure figure is quoted, the shaft gave 333.0 hp — 25% below the claim.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

444.1 hp

331.2 kW as stated by the source

No lab test on file

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”, claimed

This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.

Weight
36,795 lb
Top speed
18.6 mph

John Deere 9520T specs: key facts

  • The John Deere 9520T was built from 2002 to 2007.

  • Only one version of the John Deere 9520T has a laboratory test on record: the 9520T (Rubber tracklaying tractor) produced 277.1 kW (371.6 hp) at the PTO, measured on OECD Test 2042.Source 2

  • The John Deere 9520T has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 331.2 kW (444.1 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.

  • The John Deere 9520T is a tracked machine.Source 2

  • The John Deere 9520T has a John Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-15 engine, a 6-cylinder 12.54 L diesel unit.

  • The John Deere 9520T weighs 16,690 kg (36,795 lb) unladen.

  • The John Deere 9520T has an independent rear PTO running at 1000 rpm.

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”

How does the 9520T compare with its class?

We will not rate this machine against its class. Only 12 published tractors sit within 10% of its 331 kW — too few to say what is normal.

Derived by WhichTractor. How we work this out

Illustration of the 2002–2007 John Deere 9520 T, a 444 hp crawler tractor, a drawing generated from its specification record
Illustration — not a photograph

How much horsepower does a 9520T have?

The only laboratory test on record is of one version. OECD Test 2042 measured 371.6 hp at the PTO of the 9520T (Rubber tracklaying tractor). For the 9520T as a whole the figure is the 444.1 hp claimed for the engine, which is not power at the shaft.

Engine, claimed (gross/net not stated)
444.1 hp

Sources · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”; OECD test report 2042, 2003

What engine is in a 9520T?

A 9520T has a John Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-15, a 6-cylinder 12.54 L diesel engine. 9520T (Rubber tracklaying tractor) tractors have a John Deere 6125HRW15.

Engine — 9520T engine specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere-PowerTech 6.125 HRW-15
Cylinders6, liquid-cooled
Displacement765.0 ci · 12.54 L
Max torque1,221 lb·ft · 1,656 N·m @ 1,100 rpm
Electrical system12 V

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”

How much will a 9520T lift?

Hydraulic and PTO specifications for the 9520T are below.

Hydraulics & PTO — 9520T hydraulics and PTO specifications
SystemClosed centre, load sensingSource 2
Rear PTOIndependent, engine-driven, 1000 rpmEngages under load
PTO shaft1 3/4"- 20 splined

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”

What transmission does a 9520T have?

Transmission specifications for the 9520T are below.

Transmission — 9520T transmission specifications
ClutchPedal operated hydraulic wet John Deere multi-disc clutch
Top speed18.6 mph · 30 km/h

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”

How much does a 9520T weigh?

A 9520T weighs 36,795 lb (16,690 kg) unladen.

Weights & dimensions — 9520T weights and dimensions
Unladen weight36,795 lb · 16,690 kg
Maximum permissible mass50,045 lb · 22,700 kg
Wheelbase110.6 in · 2,810 mm
Length237.0 in · 6,020 mm
Width140.9 in · 3,580 mm
Height136.0 in · 3,454 mm
Ground clearance14.8 in · 375 mm
Front track107.4 in · 2,728 mmWikibooks gives one track for both axles
Rear track107.4 in · 2,728 mmWikibooks gives one track for both axles

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”

What oil does a 9520T take, and how much?

A 9520T engine takes 44.0 qt (41.6 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.

9520T fluid capacities, grades and service intervals
SystemCapacity
Engine oil44.0 qt · 41.6 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T” · single source, not independently verified
Transmission259.9 qt · 246.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T” · single source, not independently verified
Hydraulic91.9 qt · 87.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T” · single source, not independently verified
Cooling system64.0 qt · 60.6 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T” · single source, not independently verified

Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.

How much fuel does a 9520T burn per hour?

Measured on OECD Test 2042 (tested as the 9520T (Rubber tracklaying tractor)), at each condition the laboratory recorded.

Cost per hour = fuel used per hour × your fuel price (per litre, or per US gallon for the gal/h figure).

Fuel use measured on OECD Test 2042
Test conditionFuel per hour
Maximum PTO powerPTO 277.1 kW (371.6 hp) at 897 rpm77.36 L/h 20.44 gal/h
Rated engine speedPTO 248.3 kW (333.0 hp) at 1,108 rpm74.29 L/h 19.63 gal/h
Standard PTO speedPTO 266.5 kW (357.4 hp) at 1,000 rpm73.48 L/h 19.41 gal/h
75% load, 50% loadNot on record for this test

Source · OECD Test 2042

Common questions about the John Deere 9520T

Is a 9520T two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?

The John Deere 9520T is a tracked machine.

What PTO does a 9520T have?

A 9520T has a independent 1000 rpm rear PTO on a 1 3/4"- 20 splined shaft.

Sources and how this page was built

Compiled from OECD tractor test report 2042; and Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 9520T”.

Sources checked

14 SEP 2026

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 040: John Deere 9520 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2040 · published 2003-02-05 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
  2. OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 042: John Deere 9520T — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2042 · published 2003-02-05 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
  3. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 9520T — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106590 · revision 881732. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document