• WhichTractor size: Utility
  • Lab tested ×1
  • 2003–2007

WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category

John Deere 7220 Engine specifications

19 engine values on record for the 7220.

Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated

109 hp

81 kW as stated by the source

Not independently tested

Claimed · standard not stated by the source

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7220”, claimed

What engine is in the diesel 7220?

The diesel 7220 has a John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-249, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L diesel engine. Fitted to 7220 (2WD), 7220 (4WD).

Engine — John Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-249 specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere PowrTech 6.068 HRW-249
FuelDiesel
Cylinders6
Displacement414.2 ci · 6.79 L
CoolingLiquid-cooled
Maximum torque330 lb·ft · 448 N·m
Maximum torque speed1,300 rpm
Air cleanerPower Core air filter
Cylinders6
Displacement7.2 qt · 6.8 L
Bore4.2 in · 106.5 mm
Stroke5.0 in · 127 mm
Rated engine speed2,300 rpm
Torque rise48.7 %

Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7220”

What engine is in a 7220?

A 7220 has a John Deere 6068TRW01, a 6-cylinder 6.79 L engine. Fitted to 7220 (4 WD).

Engine — John Deere 6068TRW01 specifications
Make & modelJohn Deere 6068TRW01
Cylinders6
Displacement414.2 ci · 6.79 L
AspirationSupercharged

Source · OECD test report 2080, 2003

How much fuel does a 7220 use?

On OECD Test 2080, the 7220 used 5.85 gal/h (22.1 L/h) at maximum power.

OECD Test 2080 — 7220 as tested, configuration as printed: “4 WD · PowrQuad Plus - MFWD - 40 km/h”
Fuel consumption, at maximum power5.85 gal/h · 22.1 L/h
Fuel consumption, at rated engine speed6.18 gal/h · 23.4 L/h
Fuel consumption, at standard PTO speed6.18 gal/h · 23.4 L/h
Engine speed, at maximum power1,950 rpm
Engine speed, at rated engine speed2,300 rpm
Engine speed, at standard PTO speed2,209 rpm
Maximum torque330 lb·ft · 448.0 N·m
Torque rise48.8%

Source · OECD test report 2080, 2003

Where this page comes from

19 engine values from Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7220”; and OECD test report 2080, 2003.

Last verified

Not yet verified

Spotted an error?

Sources

Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution

  1. OECD Code 2 test report 2/2 080: John Deere 7220 — Licence not stated by the publisher; facts cited, OECD-2080 · published 2003-09-15 · retrieved 2026-09-14. OECD. Original document
  2. Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 7220CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-106517 · revision 880253. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document