- Rigid chassis
- WhichTractor size: Utility
- No lab test on file
- 1983–1986
It was ranked on an engine power figure whose source does not say gross or net. WhichTractor size, not the maker’s category
Derived by WhichTractor from a sourced three-point linkage. How we decide what a machine is
John Deere 2550 (A) specs: hp, weight, years
The manufacturer claimed 65.2 horsepower. No laboratory has tested one, so there is no measured figure at the shaft.
Engine power, claimed · gross or net not stated
65.2 hp
48.6 kW as stated by the source
No lab test on file
Claimed · standard not stated by the source
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”, claimed
This is the maker’s own figure, measured at the engine. Power at the PTO is lower — by how much, for this machine, nobody has measured.
- Weight
- 7,628 lb
- 3-point lift
- 5,886 lb
- Hyd. flow
- 13.0 gpm
- Top speed
- 18.6 mph
John Deere 2550 (A) specs: key facts
The John Deere 2550 (A) was built from 1983 to 1986.
The John Deere 2550 (A) has a claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) of 48.6 kW (65.2 hp); it has no measured PTO figure.
The John Deere 2550 (A) was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.
The John Deere 2550 (A) weighs 3,460 kg (7,628 lb) unladen.
The John Deere 2550 (A) has an independent rear PTO running at 540 rpm / 1000 rpm.
The three-point hitch of the John Deere 2550 (A) lifts 2,670 kg (5,886 lb) at the lower-link ends.
The hydraulic pump of the John Deere 2550 (A) delivers 49.2 L/min (13.0 gpm).
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”
How does the 2550 (A) compare with its class?
- Limitation:
Eight forward gears is low for its class — 33% below the median of 12 across the 413 machines within 10% of its power that hold this figure.
Derived by WhichTractor from 420 comparable records. How we work this out

How much horsepower does a 2550 (A) have?
The only figure for the 2550 (A) is 65.2 hp (48.6 kW) of claimed engine power, gross or net not stated, no test standard stated — not power at the shaft.
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”
How much will a 2550 (A) lift, and what is its hydraulic flow?
A 2550 (A) lifts 5,886 lb (2,670 kg) at the lower-link ends of its Category 2 three-point hitch.
| System | Closed centre |
|---|---|
| Pump flow | 13.0 gpm · 49.2 L/min |
| Hitch category | Category 2 |
| Lift at ends | 5,886 lb · 2,670 kg |
| Rear PTO | Independent, engine-driven, 540 rpm / 1000 rpm @ 2,382 engine rpmEngages under load |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”
What transmission does a 2550 (A) have?
Transmission specifications for the 2550 (A) are below.
| Clutch | pedal-operated dry single-disc clutch as driving clutch |
|---|---|
| Steering | mechanical John Deere power steering with hydraulic steering assist |
| Top speed | 18.6 mph · 30 km/h |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”
How much does a 2550 (A) weigh?
A 2550 (A) weighs 7,628 lb (3,460 kg) unladen.
| Unladen weight | 7,628 lb · 3,460 kgtwo-wheel-drive version |
|---|---|
| Maximum permissible mass | 10,582 lb · 4,800 kg |
| Wheelbase | 89.2 in · 2,266 mmtwo-wheel-drive version |
| Length | 133.1 in · 3,380 mm |
| Width | 79.9 in · 2,029 mm |
| Height | 101.2 in · 2,570 mm |
| Ground clearance | 24.4 in · 620 mmtwo-wheel-drive version |
| Front track | 53.5–79.1 in · 1,360–2,010 mmtwo-wheel-drive version |
| Rear track | 62.8–95.1 in · 1,594–2,416 mm |
| Turning radius, braked | 11.2 ft · 3.40 m |
Source · Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”
What oil does a 2550 (A) take, and how much?
A 2550 (A) engine takes 10.6 qt (10.0 L). Single source, not independently verified — always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine.
| System | Capacity |
|---|---|
| Engine oil | 10.6 qt · 10.0 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” · single source, not independently verified |
| Transmission & hydraulic | 72.0 qt · 68.1 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” · single source, not independently verified |
| Front axle | 5.6 qt · 5.3 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” · single source, not independently verified |
| Cooling system | 13.6 qt · 12.9 LSource: Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550” · single source, not independently verified |
Always confirm against the operator’s manual for your machine before service.
Which tractors compare with a 2550 (A)?
Within 10% of its 65.2 hp of claimed engine power, the same type, and first built within 15 years of it.
- Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo65.2 hp engine, claimed · 1988–1992Side by side with the 2550 (A) →
- ZETOR 7211/724565.0 hp engine, claimed · 1984–1993Side by side with the 2550 (A) →
- DEUTZ-ALLIS 626565.0 hp engine, claimed · 1986–1989Side by side with the 2550 (A) →
- URSUS 4512/451465.0 hp engine, claimed · 1987–2009Side by side with the 2550 (A) →
- Case-IH 83366 hp engine, claimed · 1981–1990Side by side with the 2550 (A) →
- Deutz-Fahr D 6807 (C)66 hp engine, claimed · 1981–1982Side by side with the 2550 (A) →
Common questions about the John Deere 2550 (A)
Is a 2550 (A) two-wheel drive or four-wheel drive?
The John Deere 2550 (A) was offered in two-wheel-drive and four-wheel-drive versions.
What PTO does a 2550 (A) have?
A 2550 (A) has a independent 540 rpm / 1000 rpm rear PTO.
Sources and how this page was built
Compiled from Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”.
Sources
Facts taken from these documents, units converted. Numbers beside a figure refer to this list. Licences and attribution
- Traktorenlexikon: John Deere 2550 — CC BY-SA 4.0, WIKIBOOKS-TL-82101 · revision 869502. Wikibooks contributors (Traktorenlexikon). Original document