SOMECA 480-8 (TD) or SOMECA 500 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the SOMECA 480-8 (TD): hydraulic flow and three-point lift.

  • The SOMECA 480-8 (TD) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 23% (5.0 L/min / 1.3 gpm) more hydraulic flow and 13% (200 kg / 441 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for SOMECA 480-8 (TD) and SOMECA 500 (TD), with the call on each
Question480-8 (TD)500 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?30.1 kW (40.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”30.2 kW (40.46 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 480-8 (TD) and the 500 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 480-8 (TD) and the 500 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?26.8 L/min (7.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”AheadThe SOMECA 480-8 (TD) has 23% more hydraulic flow (5.0 L/min / 1.3 gpm) than the SOMECA 500 (TD) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,750 kg (3,858 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”1,550 kg (3,417 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”AheadThe SOMECA 480-8 (TD) has 13% more lift (200 kg / 441 lb) than the SOMECA 500 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?1,810 kg (3,990 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”1,825 kg (4,023 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 480-8 (TD) and the 500 (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 480-8 (TD) and the 500 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 480-8 (TD).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 480-8”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 500”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1981–19821971–1973Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SOMECA 480-8 (TD) is newer: production began 10 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SOMECA 480-8 (TD) has 23% more hydraulic flow (5.0 L/min / 1.3 gpm) than the SOMECA 500 (TD) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The SOMECA 480-8 (TD) has 13% more lift (200 kg / 441 lb) than the SOMECA 500 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SOMECA 480-8 (TD) is newer: production began 10 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources