Nuffield 10/60 or Steyr Plus 50?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the Steyr Plus 50 is ahead on PTO speeds and drive.

  • The Steyr Plus 50 suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Nuffield 10/60 and Steyr Plus 50, with the call on each
Question10/60Plus 50Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?32.2 kW (43.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”32.4 kW (43 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 10/60 and the Plus 50.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 10/60 and the Plus 50.
Which pumps more oil for implements?35.0 L/min (9.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”32.8 L/min (8.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,950 kg (4,299 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 10/60.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,660 kg (5,864 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”2,165 kg (4,773 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Nuffield 10/60 is 23% heavier (495 kg / 1,091 lb) than the Steyr Plus 50 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 10/60.
Which has the wider choice of gears?10Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”8Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 10/60 and the Plus 50.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”27 km/h (16.8 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”AheadThe Steyr Plus 50 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Nuffield 10/60 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?liveTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 10/60.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 50”AheadThe Steyr Plus 50 is available with four-wheel drive; the Nuffield 10/60 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1964–19671967–1977EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Nuffield 10/60 is 23% heavier (495 kg / 1,091 lb) than the Steyr Plus 50 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Steyr Plus 50 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Nuffield 10/60 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The Steyr Plus 50 is available with four-wheel drive; the Nuffield 10/60 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources