John Deere 7400 (A) or SAME Rubin 120?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 7400 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Rubin 120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The SAME Rubin 120 suits road haulage better on this data: 17% (1,500 kg / 3,307 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 7400 (A) and SAME Rubin 120, with the call on each
Question7400 (A)Rubin 120Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?88.3 kW (118.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”88.3 kW (118.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 7400 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Rubin 120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 7400 (A) and the Rubin 120.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 7400 (A) and the Rubin 120.
Which pumps more oil for implements?98.0 L/min (25.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Rubin 120.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?8,600 kg (18,960 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7400 (A).
Which is heavier, for traction?5,744 kg (12,663 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”6,100 kg (13,448 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?9,000 kg (19,842 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”10,500 kg (23,149 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”AheadThe SAME Rubin 120 has 17% higher maximum permissible mass (1,500 kg / 3,307 lb) than the John Deere 7400 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”18 to 27Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 7400 (A) and the Rubin 120.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7400”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 120”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1993–19971998–2004Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SAME Rubin 120 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Rubin 120 has 17% higher maximum permissible mass (1,500 kg / 3,307 lb) than the John Deere 7400 (A) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • The SAME Rubin 120 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 7400 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Rubin 120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources