John Deere 6520 or New Holland TM 125 (Traktorenlexikon)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 6520 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the TM 125 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 6520 and New Holland TM 125 (Traktorenlexikon), with the call on each
Question6520TM 125Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?84.6 kW (113.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”84.6 kW (113.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6520 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the TM 125 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6520 and the TM 125.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6520 and the TM 125.
Which pumps more oil for implements?116.9 L/min (30.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6520.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?6,750 kg (14,881 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”6,560 kg (14,462 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?5,080 kg (11,199 lb) to 5,340 kg (11,773 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”5,337 kg (11,766 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which may carry more ballast and load?8,500 kg (18,739 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”8,500 kg (18,739 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?24 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6520 and the TM 125.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”540/540E/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 6520.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6520”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “New Holland TM125”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2002–20071999–2002EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6520 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the TM 125 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources