John Deere 6410 or VALMET 6800-4?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 6410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1806); the 6800-4: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 6410 and VALMET 6800-4, with the call on each
Question64106800-4Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?73.1 kW (98.0 hp)OECD Test 180673.0 kW (97.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1806); the 6800-4: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6410 and the 6800-4.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?59.4 kW (79.7 hp)OECD Test 1806No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6800-4.
Which pumps more oil for implements?80.3 L/min (21.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6410.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?6,016 kg (13,264 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 6800-4.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,100 kg (9,039 lb) to 4,390 kg (9,678 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”4,410 kg (9,722 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?8,000 kg (17,637 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?24OECD test report 1842, 199912 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 6410.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6410 and the 6800-4.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 6410.
Which drives on both axles?4WDOECD test report 1806, 1999; OECD test report 1842, 1999; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1997–20031996–2003EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1806); the 6800-4: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6800”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 6410.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources