John Deere 2020 (A) or SOMECA 715 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 715 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 2020 (A) and SOMECA 715 (DT), with the call on each
Question2020 (A)715 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?44.2 kW (59.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”44.2 kW (59.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 715”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 715 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2020 (A) and the 715 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2020 (A) and the 715 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?—26.5 L/min (7.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 715”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 2020 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,850 kg (4,079 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”—No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 715 (DT).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,440 kg (5,379 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”2,880 kg (6,349 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 715”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SOMECA 715 (DT) is 18% heavier (440 kg / 970 lb) than the John Deere 2020 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 715 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”7 to 14Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 715”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2020 (A) and the 715 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 715”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 715”AheadThe John Deere 2020 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SOMECA 715 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 715 (DT).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 715”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1967–19721966–1967EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SOMECA 715 (DT) is 18% heavier (440 kg / 970 lb) than the John Deere 2020 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2020 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SOMECA 715 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 715 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources