John Deere 2020 OU or ZETOR 5511/5545?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 2020 OU: hydraulic flow. On features, the ZETOR 5511/5545 is ahead on top speed and drive.

  • The John Deere 2020 OU suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 24% (4.8 L/min / 1.3 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
  • The ZETOR 5511/5545 suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.
  • The ZETOR 5511/5545 suits road haulage better on this data: 20% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 2020 OU and ZETOR 5511/5545, with the call on each
Question2020 OU5511/5545Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?37.1 kW (49.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”37.4 kW (50.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2020 OU and the 5511/5545.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2020 OU and the 5511/5545.
Which pumps more oil for implements?24.8 L/min (6.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”20.0 L/min (5.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”AheadThe John Deere 2020 OU has 24% more hydraulic flow (4.8 L/min / 1.3 gpm) than the ZETOR 5511/5545 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,850 kg (4,079 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”1,630 kg (3,594 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 2020 OU: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”); the 5511/5545: lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,340 kg (5,159 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”2,444 kg (5,388 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 5511/5545.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”10Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2020 OU and the 5511/5545.
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”AheadThe ZETOR 5511/5545 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the John Deere 2020 OU (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 5511/5545.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”AheadThe ZETOR 5511/5545 is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 2020 OU is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1967–19721966–1972EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 2020 OU has 24% more hydraulic flow (4.8 L/min / 1.3 gpm) than the ZETOR 5511/5545 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR 5511/5545 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the John Deere 2020 OU (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR 5511/5545 is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 2020 OU is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the 2020 OU: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020 OU”); the 5511/5545: lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5511”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources