John Deere 1140 (A) or OLIVER 1365 (4 WD)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 1140 (A): hydraulic flow.

  • The John Deere 1140 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 116% (25.2 L/min / 6.7 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for John Deere 1140 (A) and OLIVER 1365 (4 WD), with the call on each
Question1140 (A)1365 (4 WD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?37.0 kW (49.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”37.3 kW (50.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1365”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1140 (A) and the 1365 (4 WD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1140 (A) and the 1365 (4 WD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?47.0 L/min (12.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1365”AheadThe John Deere 1140 (A) has 116% more hydraulic flow (25.2 L/min / 6.7 gpm) than the OLIVER 1365 (4 WD) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,400 kg (5,291 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”—No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 1365 (4 WD).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,535 kg (5,589 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”2,250 kg (4,960 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1365”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 1140 (A) is 13% heavier (285 kg / 628 lb) than the OLIVER 1365 (4 WD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1365 (4 WD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1365”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1140 (A) and the 1365 (4 WD).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1365”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1365”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1365 (4 WD).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 1140”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Oliver 1365”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1979–19861971–1975Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 1140 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 1140 (A) has 116% more hydraulic flow (25.2 L/min / 6.7 gpm) than the OLIVER 1365 (4 WD) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 1140 (A) is 13% heavier (285 kg / 628 lb) than the OLIVER 1365 (4 WD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 1140 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources