J.I. Case 940 or J.I. Case 941 GP?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 940 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 941 GP has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 940 and J.I. Case 941 GP, with the call on each
Question940941 GPCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?61.9 kW (83.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 940”61.9 kW (83.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 941”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 940 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 941 GP has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 940 and the 941 GP.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 940 and the 941 GP.
Which pumps more oil for implements?58.7 L/min (15.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 940”58.7 L/min (15.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 941”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 940 and the 941 GP.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,015 kg (8,852 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 940”3,994 kg (8,805 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 941”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 940 and the 941 GP.
Which has the wider choice of gears?6 to 8Traktorenlexikon, “Case 940”6 to 8Traktorenlexikon, “Case 941”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 940 and the 941 GP.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 940”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 941”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 940”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 941”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 940”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 941 GP.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 940”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 941”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1962–19691959–1969EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 940 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 941 GP has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources