J.I. Case 2096 (DT) or John Deere 7510?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 2096 (DT): power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096”); the 7510: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at rated engine speed (OECD Test 1959) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- The John Deere 7510 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 16% (14.0 L/min / 3.7 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 2096 (DT) | 7510 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 86.3 kW (115.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | 85.8 kW (115.1 hp)OECD Test 1959 | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2096 (DT): power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096”); the 7510: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at rated engine speed (OECD Test 1959) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2096 (DT) and the 7510. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | 79.1 kW (106.1 hp)OECD Test 1959 | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2096 (DT). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 87.1 L/min (23.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | 101.1 L/min (26.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | AheadThe John Deere 7510 has 16% more hydraulic flow (14.0 L/min / 3.7 gpm) than the J.I. Case 2096 (DT) (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 3,742 kg (8,250 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7510. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 5,386 kg (11,874 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | 5,864 kg (12,928 lb) to 6,028 kg (13,289 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 2096 (DT) and the 7510. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | 16OECD test report 1959, 2001 | AheadThe John Deere 7510 has 33% more forward gears (4 gears) than the J.I. Case 2096 (DT) (both forward gears, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2096 (DT) and the 7510. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | 540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1959, 2001 | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 7510. |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2096” | 4WDOECD test report 1959, 2001; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1984–1985 | 1999–2002 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 7510 is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 7510 has 16% more hydraulic flow (14.0 L/min / 3.7 gpm) than the J.I. Case 2096 (DT) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 7510 has 33% more forward gears (4 gears) than the J.I. Case 2096 (DT) (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 7510 is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2096 (DT): power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2096”); the 7510: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at rated engine speed (OECD Test 1959) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources