J.I. Case 1694 or John Deere 3255?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 1694 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3255 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for J.I. Case 1694 and John Deere 3255, with the call on each
Question16943255Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?82.4 kW (110.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”81.7 kW (109.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1694 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3255 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 3255.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 3255.
Which pumps more oil for implements?—93.9 L/min (24.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1694.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,630 kg (8,003 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”4,450 kg (9,811 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 1694: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”); the 3255: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,350 kg (9,590 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”5,320 kg (11,729 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 3255 is 22% heavier (970 kg / 2,138 lb) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 3255.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”AheadThe John Deere 3255 has 33% more forward gears (4 gears) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1694 and the 3255.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?—independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1694.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1984–19851991–1993Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 3255 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 3255 is 22% heavier (970 kg / 2,138 lb) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 3255 has 33% more forward gears (4 gears) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 3255 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1694 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3255 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the 1694: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”); the 3255: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3255”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources