International Harvester International 424 or SOMECA 450-N (DT)?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the SOMECA 450-N (DT) is ahead on drive.
- The SOMECA 450-N (DT) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | International 424 | 450-N (DT) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 26.8 kW (36.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424” | 27.1 kW (36.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the International 424 and the 450-N (DT). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the International 424 and the 450-N (DT). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 22.7 L/min (6.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424” | 21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | 1,300 kg (2,866 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the International 424. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 1,839 kg (4,054 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424” | 1,700 kg (3,748 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the International 424 and the 450-N (DT). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424” | 6 to 9Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the International 424 and the 450-N (DT). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IHC 424” | 27 km/h (16.8 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 424” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the International 424 and the 450-N (DT). |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IHC 424” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 450 N” | AheadThe SOMECA 450-N (DT) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester International 424 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources). |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1964–1967 | 1970–1977 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SOMECA 450-N (DT) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The SOMECA 450-N (DT) is available with four-wheel drive; the International Harvester International 424 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
- The SOMECA 450-N (DT) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources