International Harvester Farmall M/MV or Nuffield PM-4?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for International Harvester Farmall M/MV and Nuffield PM-4, with the call on each
QuestionFarmall M/MVPM-4Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?26.0 kW (34.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-M”25.3 kW (33.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Farmall M/MV and the PM-4.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Farmall M/MV and the PM-4.
Which pumps more oil for implements?27.3 L/min (7.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Farmall M/MV.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Farmall M/MV and the PM-4.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,227 kg (4,910 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-M”2,062 kg (4,546 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Farmall M/MV and the PM-4.
Which has the wider choice of gears?5Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-M”5Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Farmall M/MV and the PM-4.
Which is faster on the road?26 km/h (16.2 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-M”28 km/h (17.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?537 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-M”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the Farmall M/MV.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Farmall M/MV.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Farmall Farmall-M”; Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick Farmall-M”; Traktorenlexikon, “IHC Farmall-M”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield Universal PM 4 / Petrol (1948-1954)”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1939–19521951–1957Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Nuffield PM-4 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Nuffield PM-4 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources