IMT 560 or Steyr 948 (a)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the Steyr 948 (a) is ahead on forward gears, PTO speeds and drive.

  • The Steyr 948 (a) suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.
  • The Steyr 948 (a) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for IMT 560 and Steyr 948 (a), with the call on each
Question560948 (a)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?32.2 kW (43.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 560”32.0 kW (42.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 560 and the 948 (a).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 560 and the 948 (a).
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 560 and the 948 (a).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,755 kg (3,869 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 560”1,820 kg (4,012 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,470 kg (5,445 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 560”2,310 kg (5,093 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?3,500 kg (7,716 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 560.
Which has the wider choice of gears?6Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 560”16Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”AheadThe Steyr 948 (a) has 167% more forward gears (10 gears) than the IMT 560 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 560 and the 948 (a).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 560”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 560”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”AheadThe Steyr 948 (a) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the IMT 560 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 560 and the 948 (a).
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 560”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr 948”AheadThe Steyr 948 (a) is available with four-wheel drive; the IMT 560 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1980–19861992–1996Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Steyr 948 (a) is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Steyr 948 (a) has 167% more forward gears (10 gears) than the IMT 560 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The Steyr 948 (a) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the IMT 560 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The Steyr 948 (a) is available with four-wheel drive; the IMT 560 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The Steyr 948 (a) is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources