Ford 9600 (A) or VALMET 2005-4?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the VALMET 2005-4: three-point lift.

  • The VALMET 2005-4 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 48% (1,520 kg / 3,351 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 9600 (A) and VALMET 2005-4, with the call on each
Question9600 (A)2005-4Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?95.8 kW (128.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”95.8 kW (128.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 9600 (A) and the 2005-4.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 9600 (A) and the 2005-4.
Which pumps more oil for implements?60.6 L/min (16.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”62.6 L/min (16.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,200 kg (7,055 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”4,720 kg (10,406 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”AheadThe VALMET 2005-4 has 48% more lift (1,520 kg / 3,351 lb) than the Ford 9600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?6,270 kg (13,823 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”6,335 kg (13,966 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 9600 (A) and the 2005-4.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”16Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 9600 (A) and the 2005-4.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2005-4.
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 9600”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 2005”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1972–19761986–1987Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The VALMET 2005-4 is newer: production began 14 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The VALMET 2005-4 has 48% more lift (1,520 kg / 3,351 lb) than the Ford 9600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The VALMET 2005-4 is newer: production began 14 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources