Ford 7600 (A) or Hanomag Robust 901 (S)?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 7600 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Robust 901 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The Hanomag Robust 901 (S) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 11% (300 kg / 661 lb) more three-point lift.
- The Ford 7600 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 10% (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 7600 (A) | Robust 901 (S) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 67.7 kW (90.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | 67 kW (90 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 7600 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Robust 901 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 7600 (A) and the Robust 901 (S). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 7600 (A) and the Robust 901 (S). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 36.4 L/min (9.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Robust 901 (S). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,700 kg (5,952 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | 3,000 kg (6,614 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | AheadThe Hanomag Robust 901 (S) has 11% more lift (300 kg / 661 lb) than the Ford 7600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,771 kg (6,109 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | 3,200 kg (7,055 lb) to 3,490 kg (7,694 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Hanomag Robust 901 (S) is 15% heavier (429 kg / 946 lb) than the Ford 7600 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 7600 (A) and the Robust 901 (S). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | 12Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | YesTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 7600 (A). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | 19.87 km/h (12.3 mph) to 27.15 km/h (16.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | AheadThe Ford 7600 (A) has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | 540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Robust 901 (S). |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 7600” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hanomag Robust 901 (S)” | AheadThe Ford 7600 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources). |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1975–1981 | 1969–1970 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 7600 (A) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Hanomag Robust 901 (S) has 11% more lift (300 kg / 661 lb) than the Ford 7600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The Hanomag Robust 901 (S) is 15% heavier (429 kg / 946 lb) than the Ford 7600 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- The Ford 7600 (A) has 10% more top speed (2.9 km/h / 1.8 mph) than the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- The Ford 7600 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Hanomag Robust 901 (S) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
- The Ford 7600 (A) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 7600 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Robust 901 (S) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources