Ford 5000 Diesel or Nuffield 10/60?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Nuffield 10/60: hydraulic flow. It is also ahead on forward gears.

  • The Nuffield 10/60 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 56% (12.6 L/min / 3.3 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 5000 Diesel and Nuffield 10/60, with the call on each
Question5000 Diesel10/60Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?32.0 kW (42.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”32.2 kW (43.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5000 Diesel and the 10/60.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5000 Diesel and the 10/60.
Which pumps more oil for implements?22.4 L/min (5.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”35.0 L/min (9.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”AheadThe Nuffield 10/60 has 56% more hydraulic flow (12.6 L/min / 3.3 gpm) than the Ford 5000 Diesel (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,400 kg (3,086 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 10/60.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,519 kg (5,553 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”2,660 kg (5,864 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 10/60.
Which has the wider choice of gears?6Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”10Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”AheadThe Nuffield 10/60 has 67% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Ford 5000 Diesel (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5000 Diesel and the 10/60.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 5000 Diesel and the 10/60.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 5000 Diesel”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1962–19641964–1967EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Nuffield 10/60 has 56% more hydraulic flow (12.6 L/min / 3.3 gpm) than the Ford 5000 Diesel (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The Nuffield 10/60 has 67% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Ford 5000 Diesel (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources