Ford 2610 or John Deere 930?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 930: hydraulic flow and three-point lift.

  • The John Deere 930 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 17% (3.6 L/min / 1.0 gpm) more hydraulic flow and 12% (170 kg / 375 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 2610 and John Deere 930, with the call on each
Question2610930Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?26.9 kW (36.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”26.8 kW (35.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2610 and the 930.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2610 and the 930.
Which pumps more oil for implements?21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”25.4 L/min (6.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”AheadThe John Deere 930 has 17% more hydraulic flow (3.6 L/min / 1.0 gpm) than the Ford 2610 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,413 kg (3,115 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”1,583 kg (3,490 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”AheadThe John Deere 930 has 12% more lift (170 kg / 375 lb) than the Ford 2610 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?1,804 kg (3,977 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”2,185 kg (4,817 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 930 is 21% heavier (381 kg / 840 lb) than the Ford 2610 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?3,200 kg (7,055 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 2610.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2610 and the 930.
Which is faster on the road?29 km/h (18.0 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”27 km/h (16.8 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the 930.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2610.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 930”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1981–19831974–1977Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 2610 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 930 has 17% more hydraulic flow (3.6 L/min / 1.0 gpm) than the Ford 2610 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 930 has 12% more lift (170 kg / 375 lb) than the Ford 2610 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 930 is 21% heavier (381 kg / 840 lb) than the Ford 2610 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 2610 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources