Ford 2600 or Nuffield 10/42?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Nuffield 10/42: hydraulic flow. On features, the Ford 2600 is ahead on top speed.

  • The Nuffield 10/42 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 11% (3.6 L/min / 1.0 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
  • The Ford 2600 suits road haulage better on this data: 20% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 2600 and Nuffield 10/42, with the call on each
Question260010/42Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?22.8 kW (30.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”23.2 kW (31.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2600 and the 10/42.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2600 and the 10/42.
Which pumps more oil for implements?31.4 L/min (8.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”35.0 L/min (9.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”AheadThe Nuffield 10/42 has 11% more hydraulic flow (3.6 L/min / 1.0 gpm) than the Ford 2600 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,270 kg (2,800 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 10/42.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,731 kg (3,816 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”2,418 kg (5,331 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Nuffield 10/42 is 40% heavier (687 kg / 1,515 lb) than the Ford 2600 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 2600 and the 10/42.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”10Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2600 and the 10/42.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”AheadThe Ford 2600 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Nuffield 10/42 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2600.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/42 (1964-1967)”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1975–19811964–1967Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 2600 is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Nuffield 10/42 has 11% more hydraulic flow (3.6 L/min / 1.0 gpm) than the Ford 2600 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The Nuffield 10/42 is 40% heavier (687 kg / 1,515 lb) than the Ford 2600 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 2600 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Nuffield 10/42 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 2600 is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources