Ford 1200 or Ford 1210 (A)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the Ford 1210 (A) is ahead on drive.

  • The Ford 1210 (A) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 1200 and Ford 1210 (A), with the call on each
Question12001210 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?10.2 kW (13.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”10.1 kW (13.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1200 and the 1210 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1200 and the 1210 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?15.5 L/min (4.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”16.5 L/min (4.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?400 kg (882 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”400 kg (882 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?608 kg (1,340 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”600 kg (1,323 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1200 and the 1210 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?10 to 15Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”10 to 15Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1200 and the 1210 (A).
Which is faster on the road?15 km/h (9.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”15 km/h (9.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1200 and the 1210 (A).
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1200”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210”AheadThe Ford 1210 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Ford 1200 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1979–19821983–1986EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 1210 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Ford 1200 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources