Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo or John Deere 2550 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2550 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 2550 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 50% (16.4 L/min / 4.3 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
  • The John Deere 2550 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 14% (600 kg / 1,323 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo and John Deere 2550 (A), with the call on each
QuestionPRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo2550 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?48.6 kW (65.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”48.6 kW (65.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2550 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo and the 2550 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo and the 2550 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?32.8 L/min (8.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”49.2 L/min (13.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”AheadThe John Deere 2550 (A) has 50% more hydraulic flow (16.4 L/min / 4.3 gpm) than the Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,260 kg (4,982 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”2,670 kg (5,886 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo: lift 610 mm behind the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”); the 2550 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,920 kg (6,437 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”3,460 kg (7,628 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 2550 (A) is 18% heavier (540 kg / 1,190 lb) than the Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,200 kg (9,259 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”4,800 kg (10,582 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”AheadThe John Deere 2550 (A) has 14% higher maximum permissible mass (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo and the 2550 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1988–19921983–1986Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 2550 (A) has 50% more hydraulic flow (16.4 L/min / 4.3 gpm) than the Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2550 (A) is 18% heavier (540 kg / 1,190 lb) than the Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2550 (A) has 14% higher maximum permissible mass (600 kg / 1,323 lb) than the Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • The Fiat PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2550 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the PRIMO 60-66 DT/Turbo: lift 610 mm behind the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 60-66 Turbo/60-66 DT Turbo”); the 2550 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2550”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources