Fiat 60-66 S (DT) or John Deere 2100 (A)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 2100 (A): maximum permissible mass. It is also ahead on PTO speeds.

  • The John Deere 2100 (A) suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.
  • The John Deere 2100 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 31% (1,300 kg / 2,866 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fiat 60-66 S (DT) and John Deere 2100 (A), with the call on each
Question60-66 S (DT)2100 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?38.3 kW (51.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”38.6 kW (51.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 60-66 S (DT) and the 2100 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 60-66 S (DT) and the 2100 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?34.5 L/min (9.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”31.8 L/min (8.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,000 kg (6,614 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”2,900 kg (6,393 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,770 kg (6,107 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”2,985 kg (6,581 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,200 kg (9,259 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”5,500 kg (12,125 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”AheadThe John Deere 2100 (A) has 31% higher maximum permissible mass (1,300 kg / 2,866 lb) than the Fiat 60-66 S (DT) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 to 20Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”10Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 60-66 S (DT) and the 2100 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”AheadThe John Deere 2100 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Fiat 60-66 S (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2100 (A).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 60-66S/60-66 DTS”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1992–19961993–1996EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 2100 (A) has 31% higher maximum permissible mass (1,300 kg / 2,866 lb) than the Fiat 60-66 S (DT) (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2100 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Fiat 60-66 S (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources