CASE-INTERNATIONAL 995 (DT) or SAME Explorer 90 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 995 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 90 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for CASE-INTERNATIONAL 995 (DT) and SAME Explorer 90 (DT), with the call on each
Question995 (DT)Explorer 90 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?66.2 kW (88.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”66.2 kW (88.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 995 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 90 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 995 (DT) and the Explorer 90 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 995 (DT) and the Explorer 90 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?35.8 L/min (9.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 995 (DT).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,427 kg (5,351 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Explorer 90 (DT).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,964 kg (6,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”3,000 kg (6,614 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 995 (DT) and the Explorer 90 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 995 (DT) and the Explorer 90 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?35 km/h (21.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 995”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 90”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1990–19931986–1990EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 995 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Explorer 90 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources