CASE-INTERNATIONAL 585 (DT) or John Deere 2100 (A)?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 2100 (A): three-point lift.
- The John Deere 2100 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 45% (900 kg / 1,984 lb) more three-point lift.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 585 (DT) | 2100 (A) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 38.8 kW (52.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | 38.6 kW (51.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 585 (DT) and the 2100 (A). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 585 (DT) and the 2100 (A). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | 31.8 L/min (8.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 585 (DT). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,000 kg (4,409 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | 2,900 kg (6,393 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | AheadThe John Deere 2100 (A) has 45% more lift (900 kg / 1,984 lb) than the CASE-INTERNATIONAL 585 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,558 kg (5,639 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | 2,985 kg (6,581 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 2100 (A) is 17% heavier (427 kg / 941 lb) than the CASE-INTERNATIONAL 585 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | 5,500 kg (12,125 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 585 (DT). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | 10Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 585 (DT) and the 2100 (A). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2100 (A). |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 585” | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2100” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1985–1990 | 1993–1996 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 2100 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 2100 (A) has 45% more lift (900 kg / 1,984 lb) than the CASE-INTERNATIONAL 585 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 2100 (A) is 17% heavier (427 kg / 941 lb) than the CASE-INTERNATIONAL 585 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 2100 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources