CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) or John Deere 2555 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 4220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2555 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 109% (1,671 kg / 3,684 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) suits road haulage better on this data: 17% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) and John Deere 2555 (A), with the call on each
Question4220 (DT)2555 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?56.6 kW (75.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”56.7 kW (76.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 4220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2555 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 4220 (DT) and the 2555 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 4220 (DT) and the 2555 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?65.0 L/min (17.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 2555 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,200 kg (7,055 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”1,529 kg (3,371 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”AheadThe CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) has 109% more lift (1,671 kg / 3,684 lb) than the John Deere 2555 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,998 kg (6,609 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”3,225 kg (7,110 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 4220 (DT) and the 2555 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 4220 (DT) and the 2555 (A).
Which is faster on the road?35 km/h (21.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”AheadThe CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) has 17% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the John Deere 2555 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”AheadThe CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 2555 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 4220”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2555”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1993–19981984–1992Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) has 109% more lift (1,671 kg / 3,684 lb) than the John Deere 2555 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) has 17% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the John Deere 2555 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the John Deere 2555 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The CASE-INTERNATIONAL 4220 (DT) is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 4220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2555 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources