Case-IH Puma 210 or Massey Ferguson MF 6499 A?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Puma 210 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the MF 6499 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | Puma 210 | MF 6499 A | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 156.7 kW (210.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | 158.2 kW (212.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 6499” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Puma 210 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the MF 6499 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Puma 210 and the MF 6499 A. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Puma 210 and the MF 6499 A. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Puma 210 and the MF 6499 A. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 10,460 kg (23,060 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the MF 6499 A. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 8,200 kg (18,078 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | 7,860 kg (17,328 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 6499” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 12,000 kg (26,455 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the MF 6499 A. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 18 to 28Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | 24 to 32Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 6499” | Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the Puma 210. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Puma 210 and the MF 6499 A. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | 40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 6499” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540E/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | 540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 6499” | Sources disagreeNo call on PTO speeds: sources disagree on the PTO speeds of the Puma 210. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210” | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 6499” | EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 210”; OECD test report 2427, 2008 | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 6499” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 2007–2011 | 2004–2011 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Puma 210 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the MF 6499 A has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the Puma 210.
- No call on PTO speeds: sources disagree on the PTO speeds of the Puma 210.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources