Case-IH 5220 (DT) or ZETOR 9520/9540?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 5220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 9520/9540 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Case-IH 5220 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 73% (31.4 L/min / 8.3 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH 5220 (DT) and ZETOR 9520/9540, with the call on each
Question5220 (DT)9520/9540Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?69.1 kW (92.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”69.1 kW (92.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 9520/9540 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5220 (DT) and the 9520/9540.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5220 (DT) and the 9520/9540.
Which pumps more oil for implements?74.3 L/min (19.6 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”42.9 L/min (11.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”AheadThe Case-IH 5220 (DT) has 73% more hydraulic flow (31.4 L/min / 8.3 gpm) than the ZETOR 9520/9540 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,630 kg (10,207 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”4,630 kg (10,207 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”3,700 kg (8,157 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?16 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”16 to 18Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5220 (DT) and the 9520/9540.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?635/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”AheadThe ZETOR 9520/9540 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the Case-IH 5220 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”independentTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5220”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 9520/9540”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1989–19971992–1999EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH 5220 (DT) has 73% more hydraulic flow (31.4 L/min / 8.3 gpm) than the ZETOR 9520/9540 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR 9520/9540 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the Case-IH 5220 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 5220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 9520/9540 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources