Case-IH 5120 Maxxum or VALMET 6300-4?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Case-IH 5120 Maxxum: maximum permissible mass.

  • The Case-IH 5120 Maxxum suits road haulage better on this data: 15% (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH 5120 Maxxum and VALMET 6300-4, with the call on each
Question5120 Maxxum6300-4Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?57.0 kW (76.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”57.3 kW (76.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5120 Maxxum and the 6300-4.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5120 Maxxum and the 6300-4.
Which pumps more oil for implements?75.0 L/min (19.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”69.5 L/min (18.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,334 kg (9,555 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”4,355 kg (9,601 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?5,315 kg (11,718 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”4,070 kg (8,973 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH 5120 Maxxum is 31% heavier (1,245 kg / 2,745 lb) than the VALMET 6300-4 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”6,500 kg (14,330 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”AheadThe Case-IH 5120 Maxxum has 15% higher maximum permissible mass (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) than the VALMET 6300-4 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?16 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”12 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5120 Maxxum and the 6300-4.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 6300-4.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 5120”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6300”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1989–19971991–2007EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH 5120 Maxxum is 31% heavier (1,245 kg / 2,745 lb) than the VALMET 6300-4 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH 5120 Maxxum has 15% higher maximum permissible mass (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) than the VALMET 6300-4 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources