Case-IH 3220 (DT) or Case-IH CS-52?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 3220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the CS-52 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH 3220 (DT) and Case-IH CS-52, with the call on each
Question3220 (DT)CS-52Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?38.2 kW (51.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”38.2 kW (51.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS52/a”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 3220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the CS-52 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 3220 (DT) and the CS-52.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 3220 (DT) and the CS-52.
Which pumps more oil for implements?——No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 3220 (DT) and the CS-52.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,450 kg (5,401 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”2,520 kg (5,556 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS52/a”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,675 kg (5,897 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”2,480 kg (5,467 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS52/a”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 3220 (DT) and the CS-52.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”16 to 32Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS52/a”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 3220 (DT) and the CS-52.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS52/a”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS52/a”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the CS-52.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 3220”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS52/a”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1993–19981998–2001Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH CS-52 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH CS-52 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 3220 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the CS-52 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources