SOMECA 480 (TD) or SOMECA 480 Special (TD)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 480 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 480 Special (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for SOMECA 480 (TD) and SOMECA 480 Special (TD), with the call on each
Question480 (TD)480 Special (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?35.3 kW (47.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”35.3 kW (47.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 480 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 480 Special (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 480 (TD) and the 480 Special (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 480 (TD) and the 480 Special (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,550 kg (3,417 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”1,550 kg (3,417 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,740 kg (3,836 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”1,900 kg (4,189 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 480 (TD) and the 480 Special (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?6 to 9Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 480 (TD) and the 480 Special (TD).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 480 (TD).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 480”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 480 S”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1973–19781977–1979EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 480 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 480 Special (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources