SOMECA 460 (TD) or UTB U-510?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 460 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the U-510 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The SOMECA 460 (TD) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for SOMECA 460 (TD) and UTB U-510, with the call on each
Question460 (TD)U-510Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?35.3 kW (47.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”35.3 kW (47.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 510”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 460 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the U-510 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 460 (TD) and the U-510.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 460 (TD) and the U-510.
Which pumps more oil for implements?26.8 L/min (7.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the U-510.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,750 kg (3,858 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”1,650 kg (3,638 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 510”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,810 kg (3,990 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”1,943 kg (4,284 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 510”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 460 (TD) and the U-510.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”8Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 510”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 460 (TD) and the U-510.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”23 km/h (14.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “UTB U 510”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “UTB U 510”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 460 (TD) and the U-510.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 460”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “UTB U 510”AheadThe SOMECA 460 (TD) is available with four-wheel drive; the UTB U-510 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?19801979–1990EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SOMECA 460 (TD) is available with four-wheel drive; the UTB U-510 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 460 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the U-510 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources