SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) or Steyr 90?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT): three-point lift.

  • The SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 64% (1,860 kg / 4,101 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) and Steyr 90, with the call on each
QuestionLeopard 90-Turbo (DT)90Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?58.8 kW (78.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”58.8 kW (78.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) and the 90.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) and the 90.
Which pumps more oil for implements?35.0 L/min (9.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”33.6 L/min (8.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,760 kg (10,494 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”2,900 kg (6,393 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”AheadThe SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) has 64% more lift (1,860 kg / 4,101 lb) than the Steyr 90 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?3,450 kg (7,606 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”3,430 kg (7,562 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) and the 90.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”12Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) and the 90.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?liveTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Leopard 90-Turbo (DT).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Leopard 90 Turbo”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr Plus 90”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1982–19841968–1974Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) is newer: production began 14 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) has 64% more lift (1,860 kg / 4,101 lb) than the Steyr 90 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SAME Leopard 90-Turbo (DT) is newer: production began 14 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources