SAME Explorer 60 (DT) or SAME Solar 60 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Explorer 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Solar 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The SAME Solar 60 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 31% (700 kg / 1,543 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for SAME Explorer 60 (DT) and SAME Solar 60 (DT), with the call on each
QuestionExplorer 60 (DT)Solar 60 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?44.1 kW (59.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”44.1 kW (59.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Explorer 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Solar 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Explorer 60 (DT) and the Solar 60 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Explorer 60 (DT) and the Solar 60 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?—32.0 L/min (8.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Explorer 60 (DT).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,270 kg (5,004 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”2,970 kg (6,548 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”AheadThe SAME Solar 60 (DT) has 31% more lift (700 kg / 1,543 lb) than the SAME Explorer 60 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,540 kg (5,600 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”2,080 kg (4,586 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SAME Explorer 60 (DT) is 22% heavier (460 kg / 1,014 lb) than the SAME Solar 60 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Explorer 60 (DT) and the Solar 60 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Explorer 60 (DT) and the Solar 60 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”AheadThe SAME Explorer 60 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SAME Solar 60 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Explorer 60”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Solar 60”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1986–19901986–1997EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Solar 60 (DT) has 31% more lift (700 kg / 1,543 lb) than the SAME Explorer 60 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SAME Explorer 60 (DT) is 22% heavier (460 kg / 1,014 lb) than the SAME Solar 60 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The SAME Explorer 60 (DT) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SAME Solar 60 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Explorer 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Solar 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources