SAME Aster 70 (DT) or ZETOR 5320/5340?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the SAME Aster 70 (DT): hydraulic flow.

  • The SAME Aster 70 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 28% (11.4 L/min / 3.0 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for SAME Aster 70 (DT) and ZETOR 5320/5340, with the call on each
QuestionAster 70 (DT)5320/5340Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?43.1 kW (57.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”42.9 kW (57.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Aster 70 (DT) and the 5320/5340.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Aster 70 (DT) and the 5320/5340.
Which pumps more oil for implements?52.4 L/min (13.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”41.0 L/min (10.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”AheadThe SAME Aster 70 (DT) has 28% more hydraulic flow (11.4 L/min / 3.0 gpm) than the ZETOR 5320/5340 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,800 kg (6,173 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”2,906 kg (6,407 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,400 kg (5,291 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”2,925 kg (6,449 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The ZETOR 5320/5340 is 22% heavier (525 kg / 1,157 lb) than the SAME Aster 70 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?5,600 kg (12,346 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Aster 70 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”10 to 20Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Aster 70 (DT) and the 5320/5340.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 5320/5340.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 70”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 5320/5340”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1989–19961993–1997EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Aster 70 (DT) has 28% more hydraulic flow (11.4 L/min / 3.0 gpm) than the ZETOR 5320/5340 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR 5320/5340 is 22% heavier (525 kg / 1,157 lb) than the SAME Aster 70 (DT) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources